Graphics Card Problem (Need Help BAD) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Question Graphics Card Problem (Need Help BAD)

I have an integrated 64mb GeForce 4 MX graphics card (i know its crappy) and I just got half life 2 and it said that my graphics driver was out of date, so it gives me a link to upgrade it:

http://nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

So then I go into:

Graphics Driver>GeForce and TNT2>Windows XP/2000

It then takes me to this page:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_77.72.html

From that page I select Primary Download Site, and then I accept the terms and agreements and all of that stuff. While its downloading, I open this link:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/driver_...ion_hints.html

It tells me that before I get the new drivers, I have to uninstall the old one and whatever else the instructions says not to do, so I go ahead and do that. The download then finishes and I have to restart the computer.

Once I get back on, I fire up Counter STrike: SOurce, and the screen starts to flicker, and a message pops up and says:

Failed to set video mode- resetting to defaults.
Game will now restart with new video settings.

So I click ok, then it flickers and repeats the same message again 3 more times. After 3 times, a message pops up saying:

Failed To Set Video Mode:
THis game has a minimum requirment of DirectX 7.0 compatible software.

So I go and re-install DirectX 9.0C( which I already had before) and its still doing the same time. What should I do to fix this?
__________________

HelpMeTT is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Get a new video card. That card cant run HL2, are you crazy?

Is it the 420 or the 440?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I have been playing HL2 with this card since HL2 launched, it works fine.
HelpMeTT is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default Re: Graphics Card Problem (Need Help BAD)

Quote:
Originally posted by HelpMeTT
I have an integrated 64mb GeForce 4 MX graphics card (i know its crappy) and I just got half life 2
You said right there that you just got half life 2, so how could you have been playing it? And if you have been playing it on this card, what is your question? Clearly it works.
Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Get a new video card. That card CANNOT run HL2, are you crazy?
The Geforce 4 MX-XXX can run it, however the 440 is the only card that can run it at an acceptable framerate

My first thing would to be reinstall HL2
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

a $60 card now will kill that old card.

here you go

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130197
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 06:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

lol i had a pci 5500 128mb and it sucked big tymerz man lol yea seriuosly u wanna game like that get a new card start saving u should got a new video card befor u got a game that wont run
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 08:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 31
Default

The card should run HL2/CSS on minimum graphics settings although it would definitely be a bit ropey at times. I'd suggest using some graphics tweaks in your cfg files to help maintain a decent framerate (I set up an MX420 recently and get a decent enough fps on CSS to play it).

Back to your original query - I had the same problem recently. The solution is to use an older version of the driver (71.69 if my memory serves me correctly).
h0me5k1n is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 04:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

thank you very much home5kin, finally somebody actually decided to help me instead telling me that my video card isnt good!
HelpMeTT is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 04:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HelpMeTT
thank you very much home5kin, finally somebody actually decided to help me instead telling me that my video card isnt good!
I didnt tell you how crappy your card was, and said it should run it...
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.