Graphics card problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Graphics card problem

Ok, here is my issue.

My nVidia GF4600Ti recently fried itself, so I bought a 6800 to replace it, along with another 512MB of RAM. Physical install of the card and stick went fine, and the computer booted up ok, detecting the extra memory along the way.

Now then. The BIOS page displays fine, and the "Windows XP" logo screen appears as if Windows is loading, and there is drive activity, so I guess it's leading, but for some reason, the screen goes black, and shortly afterwards, loading stops and it just hangs.

I'm guessing this might be because I haven't had chance to remove the old GF4600 drivers (cause it died). I've attempted to start the computer in safe mode, but it hangs again when loading the AGP driver.

I loath to re-format my HDD, as I don't want to loose all my data.

Any ideas what might be causing this, and how I can fix it?

Thanks in advance,

Ric B.
__________________

Ric_B is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 02:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Try a repair install. you might loose some programs but you wont loose your data. see my sig for the link.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 02:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

OK, I will try that tomorrow and report back, thanks for the links in your sig BTW, V useful!
Ric_B is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

do you have integrated graphics on your mobo, so you can plug ur monitor into that, and then removed ur old drivers?

about the only thing integrated graphics is useful for, IMO. when your gfx card screws itself. lol
joshd is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

No, no itergrated graphics on my mobo - it's the 1st time I wish I had!
Ric_B is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea... lol. no chance that you have a mate who has the exact same card a you, do you? apart from that, i do not know what you can do. is the ti4600 def. fried, and wont output any monitor signal atall, then?

edit: is there any way of disabling the gfx card drivers in the BIOS, and just using the generic frivers built into windows? anyone?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 03:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Err.. guys? he can always boot into safe mode and uninstall the drivers from there... safe mode should use the default crappy drivers that work with any vidcard as they're hella basic, so you should be able to boot to safe mode, uninstall the nvidia drivers, and reboot into norm operations and install proper drivers then.

Another thing, how are you plugging the monitor into the vidcard? if by dvi, most vidcards go by vga as a default. So use vga first, then switch to dvi if you like (had this happen to me). Or if you are using vga, try dvi instead. ya never know with these vidcards always changing outputs on ya.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Graphics card problem

Quote:
Originally posted by Ric_B
I've attempted to start the computer in safe mode, but it hangs again when loading the AGP driver.
Ric B.
there you go, ThE_MarD

How long so you leave it to make sure it is well and truly hung. on my pc in safe mode, it can take a while to load the agp driver. is this driver referring to agp port? my gfx card is pci-e.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.