Graphics card problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default Graphics card problem

Comp Specs:
AMD Athlon 2500+ (1.83 ghz)
1 gig PC3200 ram
MS8147C+ Matsonic VIA Motherboard
Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 256mb 8x agp video card
Sound Blaster 2ZS gamer edition sound card
Windows XP Home Edition

All right, I've been getting an error on my computer, which I built myself. Once in a while, at completely random times, a blue screen pops up, and it freezes. The blue screen is filled with text, saying, summerized, that if this is the first time you've seen this, then go into safe mode, and uninstall drivers which you've installed recently. I've been seeing this error message ever since I've built my computer. At the bottom, it gives some numbers as followed:
0x0000007E(0x0000005, 0xF734E5C7, 0xF7C7E4E8, 0xF7C7E1E8)

I know that it's a problem with my video card because whenever I restart my computer from that blue screen, when windows load up, a window pops up and says "Windows has just recovered from a serious crash" and you can send or don't send error report, when I push send, and I fill out that info, it says that there's a vid card problem, and I should look at Nvidia's site. I also got the latest drivers for all my hardware installed.

Anyone ever experience this or know the solution? Thanks for reading.
__________________

Kalit is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

On a Win98 system, i had a similar error while playing some video games. turns out it wasn't my video card that was bad but rather my memory sticks. If you have one spare, take out the memory that's in there now and swap it out w/ a known good one. Worth a shot.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Hmm.. all right, thanks... guess I'll have to buy one, but I'll try it.
Kalit is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

yup, ty with someone's others RAM's normally its the RAM that causes so much troubles in systems, that one couldnt imagine.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.