is this a graphics card or monitor problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Default is this a graphics card or monitor problem?

well. it's hard to explain. I just put in a new card 256mb and i get these weird lines. On my old card I dont (64 mb).

here is a pic

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/6493/trouble9hg.jpg

my monitor is a ****ty CV535 compaq monitor lol.. but still, the card is not brand new either.. so what does this look like to you guys?
__________________

jtskans is offline  
Old 09-16-2005, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default

So this problem didn't exist prior to changing the card? I reckon the card then

Pop the old one back in and see what happens if you still suspect the monitor
__________________

__________________
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Old 09-17-2005, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

is there a black stripe next to your mouse. cause this happend with me, and it was my video card. ^ try the old one, i bet it is this new one
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 03:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Update the video card driver's.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-18-2005, 03:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Its definatly the video card because if it was the monitor, that screenshot would look normal to everyone else. update driver and if that doesn't work, than switch out the videocard for somethign else.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Check to make sure that your APG SLOT and Video card APG Connection is free of all dust.

Take your video cards out, give it a good shake.

Hit your AGP slot with some Canned O2.

If the lines are still there afterwords, then put your video card in for RMA.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 35
Default Power Supply Issue Card

My recently installed GeForce 6600 card has been acting up, and getting messages on screen saying that my video card is not getting enough power supply and performance settings are being lowered to prevent damage.
I'm sharing the external power port with one of the case fans, as I don't have enough power extensions coming from the power supply unit (420 watts). Is this a factor?? I don't have a lot of accessories, and assumed 420 watts was adequate.
__________________

demob05 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.