Graphics Card Installation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 12:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default Graphics Card Installation

Hey i recently purchased a new graphics card and im just wondering if i have to remove my old graphics card and install the new one in the same slot.
__________________

xinef is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Yeah, what else were you going to do? I mean, you might try to set up dual graphics cards, but for some reason, I don't think that is what you wanted to do.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 12:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

thanks i jst didnt know if i should put it in a different slot or the one the old graphics card occupied . heh i know its a silly question but im just so happy to have a new card i wanna get it out of the box and into my pc properly and quickly.
xinef is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

unpluggin the old card and pluging a new one back in is the easy part.

if your switching from "ATI" to "nvidia" or vise-versa though... sorting out the posible driver conflicts in windows could be more chalenging if it were to occure.

*note, more newbie info* - if your old card was PCI, and your new one is AGP... The new card will not go into the old slot. it will instead go into the AGP slot if your bourd is equiped with one. All newer bourds are, but some older ones are not.

you will still have to remove your old GFX card though even if thy dont use the same slot, otherwise thy could conflict.

*super newbie info* - o yea, PCI-E graphics cards do not go into normal PCI slots. you would need a new bourd with PCI-E to use it.
jolancer is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Default

im upgrading agp-agp and they were both ati
xinef is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

You should be okay then... just make sure you get the new driver.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.