Graphics Card - Half life 2 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2004, 02:17 AM   #31 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The information that I provide is never wrong.
yeah you won't win that battle Nvidia, Ag3 is quite informative and knowledgable in his field
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 07:55 AM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
yeah you won't win that battle Nvidia, Ag3 is quite informative and knowledgable in his field
Really, I would believe Ag3 more, but he still hasn't posted proof on why he insists that the X800s boast so much better image quality than the 6800 series.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 08:36 AM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have a friend who used to run on a Geforce FX5200 and Athlon XP 2500+ and it ran Doom 3 mildly well
a 9600 Pro will have no trouble running HL2 or Doom 3, although I agree that the 9800 is prolly better for its money, it's like $350 aus
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 05:22 PM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

you can believe him but i saw one of you post that the 6800 gpu's outperform the x800's in hl2. so whatever. BTW nice sig apokalipse!
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 07:10 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
he insists that the X800s boast so much better image quality
It's not just that card, he stands by that ATI period has better image quality not just that one card, whether it's true remains to be seen, but like with everything it depends on the system, what game, and all that good stuff. I've seen screenshots where clearly the 6800 has not only better image quality but performs quite a bit faster, on the other side of that spectrum I've seen ATI have way better image quality ( specifically a football game where the lines on the field were less jagged with ATI than nvidia )

So all in all like everything...it all depends on personal preference and in the long run, the cards are fairly equal. You can't let benchmarks guide your purchases really. That's why people get pissed when they buy something that doesn't run as fast as a benchmark review they read =/

Quote:
you can believe him but i saw one of you post that the 6800 gpu's outperform the x800's in hl2.
I believe it was beedub who said it and it was only with no aa and no af, but once you started turning those on then the ATI crept up and started winning those benchmarks where I would assume with more aa and more af you'd get better picture quality so that there backs up Ag3 when he says it has better image quality
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 07:35 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

WOW guys, why cant we all just get along and realize that both companies will do more than their fair share for the game. sheesh.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 08:40 PM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

got a poin there. i really dont care anyway cause i wont be playing the game!
Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 09:57 PM   #38 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

How can you NOT play HL2, it will be THE game to set the standard for every other game. EVERY game will be compared to it. It's a must own game. And with a system like that, it hurts to know it will never pump those 500FPS from HL2.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 10:12 PM   #39 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 35
Default

haha yeah i'd be surprised if nvidia fan boy DIDN'T get those 500 fps with his rig
ReCoiL is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 10:24 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nvidia fan boy
BTW nice sig apokalipse!
thanx, I made it in Photoshop..........
.......using my Nvidia TNT2 32MB
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.