Graphics Card - Half life 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2004, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Default Graphics Card - Half life 2

Does anyone know is an ATI RADEON 9600 256MB ATLANTIS will be good enough for Half Life 2 or will I need a better card? Anyone have any suggestions please because I'm new to all this tech stuff. Thanks
__________________

Kappa is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

System Requirements:Windows, 700 MHz, 128 MB RAM, DirectX 6.0-compatible graphics card/accelerator

That is what I found for minimum requirements. Sounds like your card would work to me.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default Re: Graphics Card - Half life 2

Quote:
Originally posted by Kappa
Does anyone know is an ATI RADEON 9600 256MB ATLANTIS will be good enough for Half Life 2 or will I need a better card? Anyone have any suggestions please because I'm new to all this tech stuff. Thanks
Is that an XT based card, or a regular? If your going to go with the 9600 series, I would strongly suggest getting the XT based card. They have a faster VPU clock. It doesn't cost too much more and it does give a small increase in performance.

I got my VisionTek 9600XT here:
http://www.buyxg.com
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 447
Send a message via AIM to Pavlyk
Default

Hmm, usually as I can recall Half Life 1 had very minimal requirments. So I guess version 2 would have a bit more of demands...I guess your pc is fine
Pavlyk is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The 9600XT should have no problem with it at all. Like Doom 3, HL2 is very forgiving when it comes to system requirements. However, if you will see the best performance in HL2 with a 6800GT/Ultra followed by the X800 series.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The X800 XT PE will offer the best performance.
ag3 is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rizinc4
System Requirements:Windows, 700 MHz, 128 MB RAM, DirectX 6.0-compatible graphics card/accelerator

That is what I found for minimum requirements. Sounds like your card would work to me.
No man. Those are just the minimum PC requirements. You need at least that to just start the game. You will need a far better computer to run it at good quality. for example, halo system requeremtnts are Windows, 733 MHz, 128 MB RAM, DirectX 7 graphics card, 32MB. And on my computer (see specs below) I could only run it on 800x600 otherwise it will lag. But ya, the 9600 XT will run it at good quality, I don't guaratee full rez and full detail.
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ag3
The X800 XT PE will offer the best performance.

So far for the Source engine it has shown 6800 GPU's on top followed by x800s until you get to AA and AF.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Graphics Card - Half life 2

Quote:
Originally posted by Kappa
Does anyone know is an ATI RADEON 9600 256MB ATLANTIS will be good enough for Half Life 2 or will I need a better card? Anyone have any suggestions please because I'm new to all this tech stuff. Thanks
It depends what you mean by good enough? If you mean that enough to meet the minimum, then that card will do you fine. However, if your talking about running HL2 in high settings, then the card doesn't cut it. I had a 9700 Pro, and the frame rates and game play were sluggish and choppy when I played Counter-Strike:source. By the way Source uses the HL2 engine, in case people think I am talking about the 7 year old Counter-Strike game. The 256MB doesn't make such a big difference on the older cards. If you can really add a hundred dollar or so, go for the 9800 pro 256MB. If you really can add another 200$ go for the Geforce 6800 GT. That's my say.
__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 05:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pc_boy
No man. Those are just the minimum PC requirements. You need at least that to just start the game. You will need a far better computer to run it at good quality. for example, halo system requeremtnts are Windows, 733 MHz, 128 MB RAM, DirectX 7 graphics card, 32MB. And on my computer (see specs below) I could only run it on 800x600 otherwise it will lag. But ya, the 9600 XT will run it at good quality, I don't guaratee full rez and full detail.
Yes I am well aware of that. But his Graphics card is WELL above what is listed in the minimum requirements.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.