Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2005, 07:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default Graphics Card

Here are my computer specs, I just want to know if I can put this graphics card in it because I have an integrated one right now. Also, would it make much of a difference?

System Information
Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_gdr.050301-1519)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: HP Pavilion 04
System Model: P6322A-ABA 510c
BIOS: Version 3.06
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU 1300MHz
Memory: 254MB RAM
Page File: 207MB used, 417MB available
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

Display Devices
Card name: Intel(R) 82810E Graphics Controller
Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
Chip type: Intel(R) 82810
DAC type: Internal
Display Memory: 4.0 MB
Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (24 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: hp pavilion mx70
Monitor Max Res: 1280,1024
Driver Name: i81xdnt5.dll
Driver Version: 6.13.0001.2872


M4A1 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887

yea you should put one in. don't go overboard and put in a high end card because your system will need a few minor upgrades. having a nonintegrated board is left worries for your processor, so it has more time to concentrate on other things.

what kind of power supply do you have???

xotix is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 08:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 148

Onboard graphics suck, upgrade that ASAP! Integrated graphics use system memory (and your CPU as Xotix said) to drive the graphics.
GrayWolf is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

As long as you have an open AGP or PCI-E slot open, you will be able to put a graphics card in. You cant actually put a better graphics chip in to replace the one you have, because it is onboard.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.