Graphical glitches!? :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2005, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Graphical glitches!? :(

Hey everyone,
I have a worrying problem which im hoping you can shed some light on. Over the past few days i have noticed graphical glitches when playing games, world of warcraft especially. Basically at any random point in time the graphics on screen will just scramble, or i can see large black lines blink on the screen, distorted colours and shapes. Last night I actually had a really serious occurence of this which actually locked my machine up and gave a horrific noise through my speakers, needless to say it was followed by a reboot. Upon the reboot i noticed strange sprites and colours appearing on my windows welcome screen and the main desktop also, so its not just when im playing graphic intensive games.

My system specs are what is shown in my signature area, the main worry i have is could it possible be my graphics card (BFG 6800 GT) which i have only had a few months. I am running the 66.93 (latest drivers) from the nvidia site.

I have run artifact tester 5.0 which showed no artifacts found, but i think it is an old program, maybe not meant for DX9.0. Honestly though im really not sure how to properly test my video card for faults, can someone post a link to a good tester?

I would really appreciate some descriptive answers here, i really need to sort this out.

I havent overclocked my graphics card, basically i have done nothing i can recall to possibly cause this.

Thanks heaps.
__________________

espeed is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Those are what we call artifacts and your card is overheating. Send it back to BFG that kinda crap is unacceptable.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

I'm sure that Nvidia has released newdrivers from there website.
ApM is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 04:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

ok, so possibly my graphics card has a fault then? Is there diagnostic tools i can download to test for faults?

Also are their other possible causes for this, possibly my monitor, im really just chucking ideas in the air.

Im hating the idea of sending my graphics card back to BFG because I live in New Zealand, and its like $30US shipping each way just to get the card there and back.
espeed is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I recommend you send it back as well. The same exact thing happened to me with an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256mb, the screen turned all different colors and black lines and everything you've described. The card is just messed up. It's too late for me to send mine back because I've had it for so long, but you should send it back while you still have time to get your money back.
Freeman420 is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 04:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

BFG should pay for return shipping though.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Go here to test your card for glitches:-

http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/

Dowload the Real-Time High Dynamic Light Range tool, let it run for a while on the highest settings your system can allow.

If you see any serious artifacts after like a few seconds of it running (and yes, it is very pretty to look at ) , then your GPU is indeed getting too hot by the sounds of it. If you run it in a windowed mode, make a note of your temps. My 6800 GT can get up to 91 Celcius and above , but I've never had these kind of problems before...

Hope it helps.


EDIT: You do have DirectX 9.0c installed, don't you?

Oh, and as ApM said there's new Forceware drivers out now, 66.93 were a waste of space IMO- I found I could never run any video file/DVD in fullscreen without playing around with my desktop's refresh rate...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

Thanks,

I actually installed that software last night and gave it a go, i didnt really know what i was suppose to be doin with it though, but ill have another look tonight. So basically i turn the settings to max and just keep an eye out for artifacts, ill try monitoring the temps to. I am running DX9.0c.

Aside from the graphics card, what is the possibility of a faulty monitor?
espeed is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

You wouldnt get artifacts from a bad monitor. If the monitor was faulty then you would have refresh problems and things like that.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 08:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

does someone have screenshots of what someone would expect to see when looking at artifacts? I just want to be sure it is an artifact problem. I have just upgraded to the latest drivers being 74.15? something like that. Im gonna do some tests tonight under a different monitor just in case it isnt an artifact problem.
__________________

espeed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.