Graphic Cards question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2005, 07:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Default Graphic Cards question

I've a question since i'm not so computer literate.. are all graphic cards universal as in u can put into any com or like ram.. there are different number of pins and u haf to buy accordingly.. Thanz in advance.. :bald:

tikitaha is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574

There's AGP and PCI-e. All AGP cards work in all AGP slots, and the same goes for PCI-e, but AGP won't work in PCI-e and vice versa.


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'

m3trj is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74

Oh.. okok.. i guess i understand.. but normally a com will only support one or two?? Thanz..
tikitaha is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx

As far as I know, a system can only have PCI, AGP, or PCI-e.
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Originally posted by m3trj
There's AGP and PCI-e. All AGP cards work in all AGP slots, and the same goes for PCI-e, but AGP won't work in PCI-e and vice versa.
That's right and they will work as long as the gfx card and mobo were made within 5 years of eachother and the slot is the same

Okay about the number of cards

In an AGP system: You can usually have 1 AGP card and 1 PCI. You can even run more PCI cards if you really want.

In a PCI-E x16 System: You can run 1 PCI-E card and usually something in a PCI Slot:

In an SLI PCI-E x16 System: You can run 2 PCI-E cards and usually something in the PCI slot.

And the last but weird one, if a PCI-E system with two PCI-E slots, you can run two PCI-E cards in PCI-E x8 mode.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

well thoerticaly u could have as many gfx cards as u do slots and i have a mobo with both agp and pci-e16x and pci-e 1x and some normal pci slots i could fill all those with graphics cards if i wanted to but probably wouldnt be smart may cause probales
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 01:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re:


Some motherboards with AGP ports won't accept some AGP Graphics Cards, because they don't conform to the same AGP Specification.

You can get different AGP Specifications, like you can get different types of RAM. They differ in speeds and volatages. But most modern motherboards can accept any modern AGP graphics card, because they pair in technology available at the time.

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

if he's computer literate i'm 99.9% sure he has AGP

and a motherboard and support only one AGP card

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to neo214

Don't forget about regular PCI, those little white slots you have like 6 of lol!

neo214 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.