Graphic Card Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2005, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default Graphic Card Issue

I just bought the Sims 2 for PC and was very excited about playing it. When i got home I started reading the requirements.

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
-------------------
* 800 MHz processor
* 256 MB RAM
* Windows(R) XP, Windows ME, Windows 98 or Windows 2000 Operating System.
* At least 3.5 GB of hard drive space
* A T&L-capable video card with at least 32 MB of video RAM.


I have a Pentium Processor 4, 700something RAM... I forget.. Windows XP, 160GB drive...... and I think whats making my game EXTREMLY slow is the video card... I assume you believe thats what it is also. It has to be... Common sense... I don't think i have a good graphic card anyways.... So my question is....

Can I still add a Graphics Card to my Computer even if it has a Graphic card already integrated into the motherboard?
__________________

Cajete is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Yes you can, but depending on your CPU you might still have problems running SIMS 2.
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stupid
Yes you can, but depending on your CPU you might still have problems running SIMS 2.
What do you mean?
Cajete is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Well your processor(CPU) might be too slow. Do you know how fast it is. And if you are intersted i can sell you a decent video card that can run sims and other games real well.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stupid
Well your processor(CPU) might be too slow. Do you know how fast it is. And if you are intersted i can sell you a decent video card that can run sims and other games real well.
Well... My proscessor is 1514MHz....

Is that too slow?
Cajete is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Thats fine. All you need to to is to get a card install it and disable your on-board video, and your set.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

stupid is wrong (duh...he's stupid ) jk

he said Pentium 4 processor, 700 or something ram

any pentium4 processor is enough to run sims 2; in addition he has 768mb ram, not a 700mhz or so P4
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
stupid is wrong (duh...he's stupid ) jk

he said Pentium 4 processor, 700 or something ram

any pentium4 processor is enough to run sims 2; in addition he has 768mb ram, not a 700mhz or so P4
So its my graphics card ****ing my game up huh? I thinkin about just buying the best and newest asus graphic cards out there.... Will any model work with my comp? or does it have to be same brand as my motherboard.
Cajete is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Yeah thats what i meant. i knew 700 was ram. But if you want sims and high settings u need at least 1.2 ghz.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Dont buy the best card out there because you CPU will be bottleneckng it. Get like 6600 gt, 9800 pro, x800 pro... something like that. Like I said i can sell you my 9800 pro for 90-100. It will run sims real well.
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.