Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2009, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards?

Right two quick questions here.

Crysis is obviously very demanding. However on high detail it actually plays surprisingly smoothly, obviously though more is better and I was wondering if it's my processor or GPU which is the weakest component, basically would a GPU upgrade make a difference or is it the processor which is struggling, I assume the it's the GPU, which is a HD4870, not at all bad but obviously I didn't expect it to max out Crysis.

So onto the other question. I'll consider a GPU upgrade this Christmas as a few games are coming out next year and I like to be sure I can play them on the highest settings possible. However I know CPU's can bottleneck a card, would a Q6600 oc'd to 3ghz bottleneck some of better cards?

I was thinking of getting a HD4890 and OC'ing it quite a bit? Do you think an OC'd 4890 would give me a noticeable difference compared to my slightly OC'd 4870(it isn't playing nice with OC'ing).

If it isn't a noticeable improvement I'll hold off for a while and wait for the next lot of GPU's I assume some will come out next year, but again I'd like to know if my processor is up to scratch?
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Old 09-18-2009, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards?

I'd say overclock the Q6600 a little more, if you can. The Q6600 is not that weak.

And yes, wait for the next gen cards. They'll be coming out in a few months.

Actually I think the HD 5870 is due this month.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 06:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards?

It depends what games you are playing as well. Crysis is very GPU dependant so you can get away with having a quad core thats a bit older. Something like ARMA2 or GTA4 on the otherhand are pretty CPU intensive and that Q6600 might start to hold you back. You could make it last a year or more if you get a new GPU though, but with the i5 out its not so expensive to get a good CPU performance jump.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 06:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_helmet View Post
It depends what games you are playing as well. Crysis is very GPU dependant so you can get away with having a quad core thats a bit older. Something like ARMA2 or GTA4 on the otherhand are pretty CPU intensive and that Q6600 might start to hold you back. You could make it last a year or more if you get a new GPU though, but with the i5 out its not so expensive to get a good CPU performance jump.
ok then thanks. Well usually I only play RTS games, where the HD4870 obviously has no problems maxing anything in that genre. I bought Crysis mainly as a novelty, I usually buy shooters for the console..although seeing how much better they can look graphically on the PC might make me change my mind.

I suppose I'll have to wait and see if Mafia 2 is too demanding, as I imagine it'll have a big world like GTA 4.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards?

Your Q6600 is starting to get a little old but I don't think your bottlenecking your 4870. You could probably run any of the present day cards pretty well. But the next generation of cards is still questionable, none of us will actually know until they arrive. But if you buy one I'm sure you'll see a big boost in performance, but your Q6600 (in my opinon) will probably be a bottleneck.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 01:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Is the GPU the cause and would my processor bottleneck the latest gen of cards?

ok thanks everyone. I'll wait until next year and see what's out there, then look around and find out if my CPU would bottleneck any which are in my price range.
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.