Got A Freebie, Need help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default Got A Freebie, Need help.

Hi all,
I just got a computer today that someone didn't want. It is a CTX. It has a Biostar M5ATA Rev.1.0 Motherboard that is AMD K-6. It runs Windows 95.
What I need to know is, is there any way to put in USB capability in this? Also, it has an older keyboard connector that I've never seen. It's a large, round connector with 5 pins. I don't know where to find a keyboard for it.
Any thoughts are appreciated. I would like to give this to my daughter for just browsing the net so I don't want to put much into it.

Thanks in advance

Corey
__________________

__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

some windows 95 cd have usb support.

http://www.ctips.com/keyp.html


This is what you have.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

Thanks for the link. I was able to find an adapter so that I can use a regular keyboard.
I really appreciate the help.
Any ideas on hooking up a USB PCI card? Is this just not an option. I'm completely in the dark here.
I don't have the Win 95 CD.

Thanks,
Corey
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

USB host cards are simple. just stick the card in a free pci slot and install the drivers. to use USB you will need Win95 rev C. or you could install 98se which would make things a lot easier. a K6 should be able to run 98se its just a matter of memory you would need 32mb to make it worth it. that computer must have at least 16mb if its running 95 but probably already has 32mb. you could track down a K6-II and that would probably only cost a few dollars.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

It has 32 mb of memory. Sorry I didn't mention that.

The problem I'm running in to is, all of the PCI cards I can find specify Win 98 SE or higher.

Here's the rub.....................

If I don't have the Win 95 CD, I don't want to upgrade to Win 98 S.E.. If the hdd crashes my daughter would be left with squat. That only leaves me with with the option of finding a card that is compatible with 95.

Am I right? If so, does anyone know where on God's green Earth to find one that will work? I've Googled my arse off and either there is nothing out there, or I'm typing in the wrong search words.

Thanks again. I know, hardly worth it.............but hey, why not try right?
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 04:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Do you have any discs?, a K6 will run 2000, even XP if you wanted.In school we had k6's that triple booted 2000, 2000 server and xp.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to coreyjames66
Default

No, the gal I got it from didn't have the disc's.

I don't know why people don't hold on to them.
__________________
We decide which is right and which is an illusion
coreyjames66 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 02:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you could buy a usb hub (they're very cheap) and install windows 98. I would NOT install anything over windows 98 on that machine because it probably wont handle it.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 11:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

however, you could buy more RAM, because SDRAM is very cheap!

if you could get 128 MB on the mobo (you probably can), you could run xp!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.