Google Reportedly Favors AMD Chips Over Intel - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Google Reportedly Favors AMD Chips Over Intel

There might be some tension during Google's next boardroom meeting.

In a report released yesterday, Morgan Stanley analyst Mark Edelstone claimed that the Internet giant is favoring Advanced Micro Devices' Opteron processors for most near-term server purchases. Previously, Google (nasdaq: GOOG - news - people ) relied on Intel (nasdaq: INTC - news - people ) chips to power its many servers.

"We believe that Google is one of [AMD's] largest customers for servers," Edelstone wrote in the report.

Google spokeswoman Sonya Borälv would not comment on that assertion, saying only that the company "continually evaluates the price and performance of its computing infrastructure to guide purchasing decisions."

If it is true, however, the news will surely come as a blow to Intel chief executive Paul Otellini, who sits on Google's board. AMD (nyse: AMD - news - people ) is the No. 2 manufacturer of computer processors behind Intel. Its processors are cheaper than Intel's and have recently been winning over many corporate customers.

Last quarter, AMD grabbed more than 20% of the market for the first time in more than four years. In his report, Edelstone speculated that AMD's new business with Google might help it beat analysts' estimates this quarter.

Will any of the 300-plus attendees of Google's analyst meeting -- which began today at 10:00 am PST (1:00 pm EST) and concludes approximately four hours after that -- be able to sort the matter out?



http://www.forbes.com/2006/03/02/goo...rtner=yahootix
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

AMD is gaining ground....

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 05:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Yea they are. I am starting to see alot of articles coming out about this plus their stock is going up. Today it went up $1.26US !!!
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Wo0t. Go AMD and Google. Kick intel's ***.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

yay ! finally amd is going to kick intels a$$
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 04:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

this is bad news becuase i prefer intel over AMD

iam very sad for intel
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 04:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
this is bad news becuase i prefer intel over AMD

iam very sad for intel

I'm very sad that you prefer intel
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 04:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default



dude ..your sempron should run at 1.5 or 1.6 not 2ghz mine runs at 2ghz

add me to msn dude so we can chat i wanna know wat ya Think about ur Sempron

my msn johnrandall51@hotmail.com

add me
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Added you.
Shumway is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 06:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd2800
dude ..your sempron should run at 1.5 or 1.6 not 2ghz mine runs at 2ghz
he overclocked his
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.