Good XP Antivirus. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2003, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default Good XP Antivirus.

Need your folks comments on a good antivirus that will be in the clear to run under XP, because of the new file access permissions and such. Any constructive suggestions are good.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 06-08-2003, 11:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

I use Nortons System Works 2003 and it runs very smooth and does a great job of catching harmful things that may infect my system.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

I use AVG (www.grisoft.com) and I think it makes a great alternative to Norton (especially since it's free )
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Free is good... lol
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

I use avg also. It is a pretty good anti virus.
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 02:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 25
Default

Really anything other then Norton.

Sure Norton does a great job at removing it. But there are some where it stops Norton from working. What other choices? The best are the free online scans.
Overclocker16 is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
 
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828
Default

I use Norton Antivirus 2003
__________________
3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 06:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

I actually use norton 2002, (still have years of free updates), or panda. Panda is free and it can run from your browser while you are online....
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 06-12-2003, 07:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 223
Default Excellent!

Hey, just tried AVG per reading this thread.

Brief Story that happened today. Mcafee had run out yesterday since I had the 30 day trial. I was downloading, then installing gta3.exe off of kazaa and I immediately thougtht, 'hey' i really ought to check for bad stuff...and looked in task manager and saw the infamous system32.exe running. Argh! I installed AVG. and it immediately found it on reboot. Fixed it. Found 83 freaking infected files!!!! Wow, I didn't know those little bastards worked that fast. Luckily I caught in time and none were essential system files...it was getting ready to spew random replications named things like update.exe...gamecrack.exe etc.

Anway thats my infomercial plug for AVG. I'm glad I read this thread when I did.

Cheers.
__________________
There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home.
President, Digital Equipment, 1977
chalk is offline  
Old 06-13-2003, 02:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

maybe i should try it too,..downloading it now...
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.