a good server computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default a good server computer?

What would be a good computer for a 20slot counterstrike source server?
__________________

Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

give me the exact specs. because a friend is selling a p3 or p2 not sure but it has a gig of ram and a 20gig hard drive and a 19in monitor but i dont think that could run a 20 slot css server.
__________________

Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

any computer you would play it on should work just fine as a server...

You wont need a huge graphics card or anything, a fast harddrive and lots of ram. I am not sure if a p3 has the poop to run 20 slots without lagg though...
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Low budget:
40-60gig HD, $30 video (to take load of system memory and CPU), a reasonable Athlon XP, 512-1G RAM

Higher budget:
2x60GB in RAID 0 (it's not really that expensive)
Athlon 64 3000-3400
1GB Dual Channel RAM
Cheap video

daappleby's right, it doesn't take that much power to run a 20 person gamesever. Heck, my 1.2Ghz laptop can run a 35 person Battlefield listen server (non-dedecated) with full bots and not a lot of lag (practically nothing when run as dedicated)

EDIT: RAID will be very helpful if you ever find yourself on gigabit networks, and it ensures that the clients don't have to wait for the server to do anything. And even for the low budget server, I would highly recommend the gig of ram, as it would eliminate pagefile use, something that seems to cause a lot of my listen games to go framey.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

You don't even need an athlon 64. Just go socket 754 and a 3100 sempron.
Hacp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.