Good gaming video card that wont hurt my wallet. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2005, 09:09 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Ok, so after sleeping and thinking about this stuff and learning many new things, here is what I am down to.

ATI 100-435105 Radeon 9800PRO 256MB 256-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102361

or

eVGA 128-A8-N343-AX Geforce 6800 128MB 256-bit DDR AGP 4X/8X
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130202

Basicly what I am looking at here is the geforce with less ram but more pipelines (i have only learned about pipelines from reading this thread. I OC my comp all the time but i have never done it to my video card.)

If anyone can give me a little guidance here or tell me what I am gaining/loosing from each card, it would be much appreciated.


Once again, if it helps any i play World of Warcraft and might get BF2.
__________________

Ring0 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 09:40 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

9800 Pro dose not not really even compare to a 6800.

Scroll up and look at the 1st benchmark the doom3 one ^^^^^^

The 6800 is 5th from the top and the 9800 ith 5th from the bottom.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 10:17 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Ok, so clearly im better off with the geforce 6800. One thing that i would like to know, is where you are viewing the stats about the ammount of pipelines there are. I dont see it!

SO sacrificing half the ram for a pipeline upgrade from 8 -> 12 is thumbs up?
Ring0 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 12:15 PM   #24 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yes, more pipelines is better. The 6800 also supports SM3. Pipelines is listed in the detailed specs on newegg.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:00 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

This is good. I will probably be buying one in a few days.
Ring0 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:07 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

As this has not been said: VRAM means nothing, as long as it has some. 128mb is more than enough right now for games (excluding DOOM 3) And the 9800 is not powerful enough to use the extra memory.

The 6800 can have its pipelines unlocked to have 16.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:48 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default Re: Good gaming video card that wont hurt my wallet.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ring0
Good gaming video card that wont hurt my wallet.
Most should be okay. There was that one old ATI card that had a built-in tentacle appendage that would hunt for your wallet while you were playing games and light it on fire...failing at that it would light your left foot on fire...but those have been discontinued due to driver problems.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 03:26 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
As this has not been said: VRAM means nothing, as long as it has some. 128mb is more than enough right now for games (excluding DOOM 3) And the 9800 is not powerful enough to use the extra memory.

The 6800 can have its pipelines unlocked to have 16.
Thank you for enlightening me on this. One other thing, how do you unlock pipelines and what program (if any) should i be using. That also might need to be a new thread.
Ring0 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 06:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ring0
Thank you for enlightening me on this. One other thing, how do you unlock pipelines and what program (if any) should i be using. That also might need to be a new thread.
The 6800 is one of the harder cards to acturaly unlock the pipelines. You have to get really lucky for it to work on that card. There usually a software method and a hardware method to unlock. Truthfully I dont recommend trying it for that card. It possiable that some of the lock pipelines are dead. If you unlock a dead pipeline you risk loosing the whole card. SOmetimes all the locked pipelines are healthy buy there no gurentee on it.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 09:21 PM   #30 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Hmm... Well i dont want to **** anything up so i might start another thread about it to get more opinions. Thanks alot guys!
__________________

Ring0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.