Is this good enough for gaming? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 12:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

JeffK91, download CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-127.zip). It'll tell you what motherboard you have, along with your CPU and RAM frequencies and what not...
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
JeffK91, download CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-127.zip). It'll tell you what motherboard you have, along with your CPU and RAM frequencies and what not...
I'm on my other comp, ATM. I don't have my router yet (which ill go out and buy today). Btw, anyone know any good cheap brand name routers I can buy.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

you can get way better things than that online.
on newegg you can get a

amd athlon 64 3000+/ $150
dfi ut nf4 /$145
corsair value select ram 1gb (512x2)/$115
evga 6600gt/$195
80gb harddrive/$70
dvd drive/cd/$120

all of this turns out to be around 795. and you can use the extra on a monitor. just a opinion.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

It's a little too late now.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

He only needs a new video card, possibly some new RAM, I believe the 3000+ and 3200+ Athlon XPs operate at a 400MHz FSB frequency rather than the rest of the Athlon XPs which only operate at 333MHz, however I think it depends on the core so I'm not sure.

But yeah, point being, all his other parts are fine. He can throw down about 300 dollars and get a 6600GT and 1GB of memory and he'll be set.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

For 1000$ you can BUILD a high end system, amd 64 3200, sli, 1 video card, couple 200gb hds, decent case, and a dvd burner. Contrary to popular belief it isnt hard to build a computer.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:34 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea all he need to upgrade to make it a good gaming comp is possibly a video card and some rams.
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

It's a compaq, who knows what kind of motherboard is in it. (I heard they were getting a little better at this, and actually using normal mother boards? is there any validity in this?) For 1000$ he should be getting a 6600 pcie on the system, a 64bit processor, and a decent motherboard.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 12:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

Did you already buy this computer? I wasn't quite sure, but it sounds like it. Generally, I'd recommend asking the "is this good enough" questions before you buy. Your just asking to be disappointed.

The CPU should be fine. I have it and run the latest games in high settings. It would be nice to know what motherboard you have in there because that can make quite a difference.

I recently went from a Radeon 9800 Pro to the Nvidia 6600GT and my 3DMark03 score went up 29% and 3DMark05 score went up 32%. That was more than I was expecting. The 9800 Pro was only a year or year and a half old and <GRIPEMODE=ON> I paid like $350 for it.</GRIPEMODE> The 6600 GT was $220. I'm believe that the 9800 Pro outruns the FX 5500 by nearly a factor of 2 (based on the FX 5600 numbers), so imagine what a 6600 GT would do for you. If you look at this Leadtek 6600 GT from NewEgg, you could have it in a few days for $189 shipped. I've owned a couple Leadtek video cards and they were extremely well built and engineered. BFG (the makers of the card you have) also make a 6600 GT OC version with a very good reputation, but they do cost more.

I would also consider adding another 512 MB of RAM to get to 1GB of PC2700 as opposed to replacing it with 512MB PC3200 (assuming the motherboard supports PC3200). You'd see some increase, but probably not justifiable to the cost. Some of the newer games will make good use of a GB.

Oh, and that FX 5500 .. one word, "eBay."
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

FX-5500 3dmark 03 scores are like 3k?compared to the 6600GT's 9k?

Exactly

EDIT: Oh my, their 1.5K
This means approx 6x difference in peformance
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.