Good Deal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2004, 09:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default Good Deal?

yeah im in canada and i was looking for a cheep video card.... and then i stumbled across the "ATI(Sapphire) Radeon 9200SE 128MB DDR VGA+TV out OEM" for like 64 bucks... so it sounds like a good deal,and the place is just down the street from me but im not sure, what do u guys think?, Also will this video card be compatible with windows 2003?..

Ohh yeah heres the link 2 the site http://www.anitec.ca/productitem.asp?FundID=1&pid=1172
__________________

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

That's a good price (in CND dollars) for that card, since it's the 120 MB version.

It will be compatible, though it won't play all the 3D games in the world....for most intensive 3d games, you will have to turn off/or lower some of the graphics features.
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

aww... haha yeah but it will be better then my 32 mb onboard i have rite now .. lol, but yeah will it be able 2 run like command and conquer generals and like rise of nations?.. games like that..?
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 09:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

Yep... it should.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

I play rise of nations and age of mythology on my old comp.... it has a 128 MB, 9200 se.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

good deal for the card but. Se devices are stripped down pieces of junk and i would/will never buy one. For a couple reasons. A-se stands for slow edition B-Runs at way lower core speed and can barely play anything on it even if it is high se drives like 9700se or 9600se c-I just dont like crappy parts
XT is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

welll... is thier another card by any chance that is around the same price that is better?, perhaps another brand?.... or what?... [canadian prices]
A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 06:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

For that price, you might find something on ebay, or refurbished somewhere. I don't know if you'd be willing to take the risk of buying like that...up to you.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

you could go to future shop get a good card (which would cost you more money now) and also get the Product service plan for 3 years. then when they stop making the particular model that you have, overclock your card till it's dead and then take it back to futureshop. They will give you an up graded one (since they dont offer the one that you bought origanally) . This way you have a new card for 3 years and it will probobly cost you less in the long run ..... something to think about if you are thinking about upgrading in the future
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 03:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

lol, hey i never thought about that, but thats a good idea
__________________

A_Zip1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.