Good Deal? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 09:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

NO NO NO

Impossilbe for growing new games !!

T
__________________

ForumWizardry is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 09:35 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

the 5900 is crap. Definitly get a 6600 GT, preferably on a PCI-Express mobo. That will leave room for future upgrades.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 09:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

What brand is the system you have now, stonerkid88? I'm wondering what all can be salvaged from it. Stuff like HD, floppy, CDROM, keyboard, mouse, speakers, monitors, possibly case.

You'll definately have to have mobo, CPU, PSU, graphics card, and possibly HSF.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I think I'll be cool if I get the deal I originally posted but upgrade my video card to like a 6600 GT. My only concern is the xp 2700...
stonerkid88 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:22 PM   #25 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

I hate to go with the crowd, but if you can go with a 64, do it. Make it a socket 939.

Mobo: Abit AX8 $113.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-187&depa=1

CPU: AMD 3000+ $146
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-501&depa=1

Graphics car: EVGA 6600 GT $183
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-214&depa=1

PSU: Antec SL 450 $82.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-920&depa=1

Total: $525.98
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:28 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
I hate to go with the crowd, but if you can go with a 64, do it. Make it a socket 939.

Mobo: Abit AX8 $113.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-187&depa=1

CPU: AMD 3000+ $146
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-501&depa=1

Graphics car: EVGA 6600 GT $183
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-214&depa=1

PSU: Antec SL 450 $82.99
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-920&depa=1

Total: $525.98
I completely agree, I really want to go with the 64. Did you forget RAM? I need at least 512MB.
stonerkid88 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:39 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

don't get that antec psu, get this instead

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...104-154&DEPA=0

for your memory, these will work:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...220-057&depa=1
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:45 PM   #28 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Yeah, I did. My bad. I am also assuming that everything else can be salvaged from your present rig.

Ram is not bad.

RAM: CORSAIR MEMORY XMS $59.33
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-408&depa=1

Unfortunately, the mobo I chose is not dual-channel, but I think you'll survive (contrary to what you'll read on here).

EDIT: All prices include current shipping.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:47 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Yeah, I did. My bad. I am also assuming that everything else can be salvaged from your present rig.

Ram is not bad.

RAM: CORSAIR MEMORY XMS $59.33
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-408&depa=1

Unfortunately, the mobo I chose is not dual-channel, but I think you'll survive (contrary to what you'll read on here).

EDIT: All prices include current shipping.
wtf why that ram? that is crap ram

3-3-3-8 stock and 256mb

but still, it's a XMS for some reason

can you explain why that ram is good?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:53 PM   #30 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Never said it was, but it will provide for what he needs.

Recomend something better that won't break the bank.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.