is this a good choice? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 05:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default is this a good choice? and... EL wire

does anybody know if this is a good psu?
Is it reliable? etc...

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch...ry_Code=ps-500


there is another question about EL wire... look for *******'s
__________________

Seria is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

From the review I would say yes, and it looks reliable never needed that much power
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

i have that PSU and it runs everythig fine. ive had a x800 pro in my pc for a week and it ran it fine with all my other stuff.
__________________
AMD XP 3000+ @2.47 Ghz
ATI 9600 Pro soon to be 6800 GT
1GB corsair VS 3200
520 Watt aspire PSU
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2x 80 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
2x 120 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
14.4k modem (seriously)
5x 80mm fans
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

thanks
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I have that PSU, and I have to say I am happy with it. It runs all of my components plus 3 cold cathodes fine.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

yah im suprised how well it worked for how much it costs. i think i got it at newegg for like 48 bucks at a time when it was on some one day sale thing... it was a good buy :-)
__________________
AMD XP 3000+ @2.47 Ghz
ATI 9600 Pro soon to be 6800 GT
1GB corsair VS 3200
520 Watt aspire PSU
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2x 80 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
2x 120 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
14.4k modem (seriously)
5x 80mm fans
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

hmmmmm. here it is at newegg for only $55
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...148-008&depa=1
instead of $75 like at monarch

... I love newegg.
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

I want this psu cuz it will look cool with my modded case.
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 05:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to DaShizNit609 Send a message via Yahoo to DaShizNit609
Default

lol u were gonna buy it for $75? heh that PSu is always on sale at newegg for some reason. and yes it does look cool although it doesnt put off enough blue light to make the whole case glow
__________________
AMD XP 3000+ @2.47 Ghz
ATI 9600 Pro soon to be 6800 GT
1GB corsair VS 3200
520 Watt aspire PSU
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
2x 80 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
2x 120 gb WD standard 7200 rpm
14.4k modem (seriously)
5x 80mm fans
DaShizNit609 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

I don’t have to worry about the lack of light problem that psu has. I actually want it because, 1. Its black and not gray like the one I have now. 2. Its wires are uv green. I already have a sound reactive cold cathode that lights up the case all by itself. and 4 quad-led fans. I am gonna 2 of these:
http://store.yahoo.com/xoxide/secblacuvcat.html
oh, oh-OH!! and this:
http://store.yahoo.com/xoxide/12linespcoca.html

...
I wanna get some O dis:
http://store.yahoo.com/xoxide/5ftredelwire.html
but I dont know how to use it. Is it a uv thing or somthing that you plug in? Does anybody know?
__________________

__________________
Seria is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.