Going crazy getting a new comp! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2004, 10:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ankush09
I'd go with Intel, I've heard of AMD as slow
You've heard? From who? Do you have any experience with AMD?

I've had experience with three P4 comps, and two AMD comps.. and definently AMD > Intel
__________________

__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 01:00 AM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

OMFG, guys, he's gonna play CS, that's more than enough, he'll get like a constant 100FPS, btw, guy, I'd suggest getting an nForce2 based mobo (from MSI preferably) because if you ever do switch to a 3200+ or something like that, you'll have dual channel RAM capabilities too.
__________________

Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 10:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Wow thanks for the replies, yea i made that list late last night and i forgot hd but ill probably pick up a 40 gb maxtor or something. If i ever need to add another stick of 512 ram will it work with that mobo? And yes the processor is retail and it says ::Packaging: Retail Box (Heatsink and Fan included)
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 10:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

AMD Rocks! Cheaper & ya can Overclock it if the feel the need for more Speed.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 11:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 87
Default

yeah you can add anoher stick of 512 no problem.

Wartorment, dual channel ram wont work with the 2500+?
__________________
Current Computer Specs
Athlon XP 2200+ (266 FSB)
Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe
1GB Corsair PC2700 C2 Pro Series (2x512)
Thermaltake 11+ HSF
Asus GeForce 4 Ti4600 128mb
420 Antec TruePower
4x Plextor DVDRW
Soundblaster Live 5.1!
120gb Maxtor SATA 7200rpm
60gb Maxtor ATA/133 7200rpm

Currently building a new one (ETA July/August)
archon45 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 02:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Send a message via AIM to zero1424
Default

ok.. go for it, your comp will be awesome in cs, 100fps constant...... maybe a little lower in smoke... and I hope your not one of those "developer 1" fags
__________________
my saucy comp
Antec PlusView case
-600w PSU - 20A @ +12v
-Evercool fan controller
-5 LED fans, 4 blue 1 green
-Lian Li T3 Temp. Monitor
-planned mods, see below
ASRock K8S8X motherboard
-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2.0ghz
-Heatsink modded with Sunon Tornado, ~38C@Idle, 42C@Full Stress
-Inno3D Tornado nVidia Geforce FX 5600 128mb
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
-512mb DDR400 PC3200 2.5CSL
-100gb westen digital

19\" Compaq P900 // 1600x1200@70hz / 800x600@120hz
Intellimouse explorer 4.0a/Thunder8 x-ray pad

planned mods:
coming in mail:
Kingwin K8-heatsink modded with a Sunon(vantec) 84.1cfm fan, and blue lazer LED light kit
Blowholes in top of case with 2x 120mm Thermaltake Blue LED Thunderblade fans with Blade fan grills
Blue Cold Cathode
zero1424 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 04:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zero1424
ok.. go for it, your comp will be awesome in cs, 100fps constant...... maybe a little lower in smoke... and I hope your not one of those "developer 1" fags
???......

...also, smoke gets bad depending on your video card's open gl support.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 04:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Yeah almost any "budget" card will go down under smoke. My Sapphire 9600 (100 bucks) is rock solid through it tho under full quality and @ 1152 by 864.

I'd reccamend Seagate hard drives - theyre hella quiet (your fans will be the the only noise problem) and nice and fast (depending on the model)

Dont overlook the NF7 "series" for AMD motherboards. Nothing runs like a 2500 slapped on an NF7-S. I'm ordering an NF7 pretty soon - only 66 bucks at NewEgg! ("-S" model = more $, more features.)
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.