Going to buy my parts, have question about RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2005, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default Going to buy my parts, have question about RAM

Hi,
Here is what I am thinking of buying for my emulation machine.

PROCESSOR: $69
AMD Sempron 2400+ 1.667GHz, Socket A Processor - Retail

- Specifications -

Manufacturer: AMD
Model: SDA2400BOX
Core: Thorton
Operating Frequency:1.667GHz
FSB: 333MHz
Cache: 256K (exclusive) L2 cache; 128KB L1 cache
Voltage: 1.65
Process:0.13Micron
Socket: Socket A
Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
Packaging: Retail (Box with Heatsink and fan)
----------------------
ASUS "A7N8X-X" nForce2 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL


Model# A7N8X-X
Item # N82E16813131468

Specifications:
Supported CPU: Socket A AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/Duron Processors
Chipset: NVIDIA nForce2 400 + MCP
FSB: 400/333/266/200MHz
RAM: 3x DIMM for DDR400/333/266/200(Non-ECC,unbuffered) Max 3GB
IDE: 2x UltraDMA 133 up to 4 Devices
Slots: 1x AGP 8X, 5x PCI
Ports: 2xPS2, 1xCOM, 1xLPT,6xUSB2.0(Rear 4), 1xLAN, Audio Ports
Onboard Audio: Realtek ALC650 6CH w/ built in HP amplifier
Onboard LAN: Integrated NVIDIA MAC + Realtek 8201BL PHY 10/100Mbps
Form Factor: ATX
-------------------------------
Kingston ValueRAM 184 Pin 256MB DDR PC-2100 - OEM
PRICE: $35.67

- Specifications -

Manufacturer: Kingston
Speed: DDR266(PC2100)
Type: 184 Pin DDR SDRAM
Error Checking: Non-ECC
Registered/Unbuffered: Unbuffered
Cas Latency: 2.5
Support Voltage: 2.5V
Bandwidth: 2.1GB/s
Organization: 32M x 64 -Bit
Warranty: Lifetime
__________________________________
First, this will all work together ok right?

My question on RAM is, the motherboard states it supports
DDR400/333/266
and I guess this has to do with speed. So is DDR400 the best and DDR 266 the slowest? Also, does the PC2100, PC2700, etc.. mean anything else, or does it just coincide with the DDR numbers?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
System Specs:
Pentium 4 - 2 GHZ processor
MOTHERBOARD - Gigabyte Ultra GA-8PE667
VIDEO - NVIDIA Geforce FX 5500 OC
HARDDRIVE - 120 Gig Maxtor
MEMORY - 512 MB ram
Wyluli is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what do you want to emulate?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Yeah, that's what I want to know. As in a home-brewed Xbox or PS2?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default

Emulate:
Arcade Games. Classic stuff.
__________________
System Specs:
Pentium 4 - 2 GHZ processor
MOTHERBOARD - Gigabyte Ultra GA-8PE667
VIDEO - NVIDIA Geforce FX 5500 OC
HARDDRIVE - 120 Gig Maxtor
MEMORY - 512 MB ram
Wyluli is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

For the same price you can get cheap pc3200 ram
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 01:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 43
Default

So, pc3200 is better than pc2100 then? So the higher the number the better? Is the difference very noticeable?
__________________
System Specs:
Pentium 4 - 2 GHZ processor
MOTHERBOARD - Gigabyte Ultra GA-8PE667
VIDEO - NVIDIA Geforce FX 5500 OC
HARDDRIVE - 120 Gig Maxtor
MEMORY - 512 MB ram
Wyluli is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 02:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

you will notice the difference between 2100 and 3200, your programs wll be more responsive, faster booting etc. You might not notice a difference between 2700 and 3200, but i assure you, there is a performance increase.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.