Gigabyte vs Abit vs Asus - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2005, 01:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I have an MSI mobo, and i play half life 2, doom 3, far cry, that sort perfectly. its hard to go wrong with an nforce mobo. DFIs do tend to be the best ones though.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Dont even consider a FATAL1TY, this mobo is completely over rated and priced. Besides, its only good for OC. All the FATAL1TY's options and special features, are pretty much for OC reasons.

Now Gigabtye mobo's work. But they arent amoung the best. For any kind of cpu, Intel, AMD. You always want to stick with these mobo's, DFI, MSI, Abit. If you notice, most of all custom computer companys, only carry them. Not Gigabyte or Chaintech ect. Another big factor, gigabytes are amoung the worse for OC.

Since DFI, MSI, Abit carry mobo's supporting any kind of interface. You wont find any better boards then these brands, and since they offer boards at all different prices theirs no reason to spend your money on anything else.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

DFI is the best of the best right now, you will not find a better all around company than them. If you are limited to AGP, you will want the MSI Neo2 FIR motherboard, or possibly the Abit AV8 3rd Eye, but as mentioned, some VIA chipsets are a bit iffy.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:30 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Giga-byte are nicely built. They are very good for office working and playing games, not hard-core game though, ex. Doom3. And their customer support is EXCELENT . For gaming, I recommend a DFI motherboard.
wtf?? how is having a gigabyte "very good [for]...play games"

every motherboard is the same

on the other hand, if you're not going to overclock, get the chaintech vnf-150
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

DFI can handle more power than GB, GB aren't that good for gaming, and overclocking. I over clocked my GB mobo, I also have to overclcok my PCI bus. Sucks.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
DFI can handle more power than GB, GB aren't that good for gaming, and overclocking. I over clocked my GB mobo, I also have to overclcok my PCI bus. Sucks.
oh yea, that sucks b/c you'll damage your components nd stuff iy ou do

but i was referring to that if you play for example game A on dfi and get 100fps, game A on gigabyte will probably be 98-102, which makes gaming (fps wise) the same
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Your insane if you suggest a Chaintech mobo, come on man. You should know better. I would rather wait months to afford a DFI then instantly have any sort of chaintech. Why would you recommend chaintech or DFI/MSI/Abit....
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well there's 100+ reviews from them on newegg and i've heard one or two people recommend it for stability (if they're not ocing)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Man, DFI have Japanese capacitors, which make it great for overclocking. lol. Chaintech, didn't they make pencils before? lol.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-24-2005, 01:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

MSIs are nice, i like mine a lot
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.