Gigabyte MainBoards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2004, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default Gigabyte MainBoards

Well guys (and gals if there are any), i think i might decided to go with a Gigabyte board over the Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe. I read all the reviews about it on newegg and well... i just don't feel very comfortable about it. It seems the board has a decent share of problems with sata/raid, the drivers being funky at times, bad technical support, and a few other things that i forget. I know all boards aren't perfect but... i just don't know.

I checked out the Gigabyte alternatives (checked out MSI and ABIT too) and i'm leaning towards the 7N400 Pro2 for my main machine, and the7VT600-L for the secondary machine. I just want stability and something that's gonna come with some decent instructions (this is my first real build). It seems just about everyone has had trouble setting up the asus board. Heck, some of them even sent 'em back.

Anyone here have anything to say about Gigabyte boards or Asus? I think we pretty much covered Asus in that other post i made a week or so ago. Somehow though, something just isn't settling right with me about 'em. I might still end up getting an ASUS for one of the other systems i'm building, but for the first 2 pc's i'm building... i think i'm gonna go Gigabyte (amd of course).

Ares is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill

The ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe gave me a bit of trouble with the SATA drivers. Problem was this: I had 2 80GB SATA drives going into a clean system, brand new. The mobo needs a driver for SATA that they put.... on CD. All you need to do is get the driver from their website and put it on a bootable floppy which you can load during XP install (to specify driver locations).

No big deal. I love my ASUS.

System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik

Well I haven't really heard anything bad about Gigabyte, although Asus IS the #1 motherboard.

You should consider an Abit, they are also excellent.
Erik is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

the 7NN8X is very good, very easy to overclock with; a friend of mine really easily overclocked an Athlon XP 2500 to 3200.
also with its Dual BIOS you have some security to BIOS f..... umm, stuff up's
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 12:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 325

The Gigabyte 7N400 Pro 2 also has Dual BIOS, it saved my a** a week ago when a BIOS upgrade lost the Silicon image SATA drivers, and consequently, the boot HD.

Originally Posted by FreeWill
Aquarius 2.... performs as well as urinating in your heatsink
LV38_Eagle is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 04:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872

I'm very happy with my 7NNXP ... Never gave me any problems ....

I didn't have any trouble with SATA or RAID too...
BUt i do agree that the Tech Support with gigabyte was quite bad my experience.
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 02:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400

From what i've read, the gig boards come with the best manuals, which is good for a beginner builder like myself.

The thing i liked about the 7n400 pro 2, besides the dual bios, raid and sata features, is that it also would let me use regular ide drives (i'm new to this whole sata thing), atleast i think that's what the specs mentioned. This way i could hook up plain ol hard drives to it, and a few months down the road, when i'm ready to jump into the sata/raid headache i can still do it.

One guy (in the newegg reviews) mentioned how it wasnt much different from the 7vt600-L.

What do i know though, i'm just jumping into this head-first!
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903

AsusTech makes good video card (or at least used, I am not sure as we only seem to sell cheaper eagle tech or Lead Tech)
I could never say that i was impressed with the AsusTech montherboard.

I use Gigabyte for most of my machines at work, and i have been quite happy with the performance.

I resently sold the GA-7N400 Pro2 to my sister last month. And my comments are that is an excellent quality / value for money board.

DUAL BIOS is handy on any machine. I have Project : RESIDENT EVIL (with I am hoping to complete today) where I have a Gigabyte Board with a Dual Bios on it.
RESIDENT EVILis the virus cleaning machine at work. See of speakers on with with the Red Queen's Voice saying "You're all going to die down here" on boot up.

As for the GA-7VT600-L, I use that board for all my standard machines, and i have yet to have a DOA or RMA on them. (Same with the GA-7N400 Pro2)

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400

I read something about certain cpu fans not fitting well on the 7n400 Pro2. Can anyone suggest a good fan that WILL fit?

Thanks for your comments Silesia!

The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.