GIGABYTE or ASUS - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2005, 12:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

I've changed my mind, niether... ABit, DFI and possible MSI gets my vote now.


Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 01:20 PM   #12 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189

Ive built 2 rigs with gigabyte boards. Very user friendly. The boards I bought came with onboard savage graphics that I would not recommend for gaming.I bypassed the onboard and installed an agp card. I think they are good boards for the money.

geekster is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Depends on A: what processor you're going to use, and B: what features you want.

ASUS used to be great for AMD boards, but a lot of people have been disspointed with them lately.

Giga-Byte sells some great boards, but you have to look at them closely because they're notorious for leaving out that one feature you want, making all the other great stuff worthless.

In the end, it's not a matter of which is better. You have to look at the boards themselves, spec wise, and see what fits your ticket best.

Either way, you're gonna get a board made in some Asian country with a manual that reads like a 4th-grader's essay for a japanese party.

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 114

I have heard some poeple complaining of ASUS boarbds lately. All my mobo's have been ASUS and i love them.
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [939 Socket] W/ ASUS \"A8N-SLI Deluxe\" nForce4 SLI Chipset PCIe Motherboard
Kingston 1024 MB [512MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200 Memory
MSI Nvidia GeForce 6600GT 128MB DDR3 128-bit PCIe
Western Digital 160 GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA Hard Drive + WD 120GB 7200 RPM IDE HDD
LG Dual Format/Double Layer 16X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive
d_source is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 02:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: GIGABYTE or ASUS

Originally posted by AstonFanboy
Which is better, ASUS or GIGABYTE? in motherboards that is
I go for the Gigabyte. I have been using Gigabyte for my home Pc for years now, and I have not had a proble,

ASUS........ they used to be good. I used to sell them a lot at work, but I have had too many RMAs come back

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Yeah ive seen a bit too many ASUS mobo's recently go anyways. Asus used to be a really fast rock solid company.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121

My dad would either be crying or po'ed if he found out I jumped to asus and amd if he were still alive. We used to always use intel and gigabyte but about 2 years ago I went with asus, stayed pentium and the asus had a LOT of features. I agree the manual for asus is confusing as ****. I ignored it and just experimented until my **** turned on.
PILMAN is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

Gigabyte is a good board, nothing wrong with them. But I still use ABIT.
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Trifid, MSI and DFI make damn great mobos. You dont know what your talking about man.

I suggest Asus. Gigabyte is something you get when you cant afford a Abit, DFI, MSI, and Asus. Gigabytes suck for OC anyways.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

if your gonna get gigabyte...get the pro version of the board if your serious about puttin' a computer together.

[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.