gigabit lan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2003, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default gigabit lan

im thinking of setting up a gigabit lan at my house, my new mobo has built in gigabit lan, and im buying a 5 port gigabit switch, how much would a regular gigabit nic for my other computer cost?

and i can run cat5e right? or should i get cat6 or 7?

also im wanting to build a pc to use as a server, what kind of specs should it have?

any1 know where to find an atx dual xeon mobo?

do the xeon mobos need the same "extra" power connector as the p4s?
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Old 09-17-2003, 01:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

according to my network book the maximums are:

cat5- 100 Mbps
cat5e - 200 Mbps
cat6- 600 Mbps
cat7- 1 Ghz

according to the book the only kind you can use for gigabit networks to acheive 1gigabit throughput is CAT7 . i have seen cat5e cables rated to 600 megabits before. but either way im sure cat5e is not enough for you. im not sure whether it would just slow down your network if you used cat5e or just cause massive data transfer errors and corruption.

you have to really ask yourself if you actually need a server. i mean is it just something nice to have or do you actually need it over a cheaper 10/100Mbps network? if you use the server mostly for you LAN tranferring large files all the time than that makes sense, but if you are going to run a web server over DSL or cable modem than the speed is wasted.

as for me i'll wait until the prices come down on the hardware, it does sound nice though
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 09:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

for me the server is going to be for transferring large files over a network, so the gigabit would be very nice, and since im moving back to wichita(finally!!!!) i can get COX cable, who doenst cap the bandwidth, and i did a bandwidth throttle on my aunt computer, who has cox cable, and she was running at 1047Mbps and my uncle mike, who has COX cable was running at 2713Mbps!! that nucking futz!
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 11:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default ???

dude, there seems to be something wrong with your numbers. according to google:

2,700 (megabits per second) = 337.5 megabytes per second

you are telling me your uncle gets 2.64 GIGABITS per second on his cable connection????? that is impossible, cable's maximum speed is 36Mbps downstream. that would mean your uncle surpasses SONET level OC48, fiber optical! what are you using to measure the speed?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-18-2003, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default Re: ???

Quote:
Originally posted by ekÆsine
dude, there seems to be something wrong with your numbers. according to google:

2,700 (megabits per second) = 337.5 megabytes per second

you are telling me your uncle gets 2.64 GIGABITS per second on his cable connection????? that is impossible, cable's maximum speed is 36Mbps downstream. that would mean your uncle surpasses SONET level OC48, fiber optical! what are you using to measure the speed?

sorry it was 2700Kbps, not Mbps, i got a little excited, no if it was 2700Mbps, id be living there, lol
dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.