gggrrrr more troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 24
Default gggrrrr more troubles

I just got my new case today, because my one was a piece of trash. the whole front panel was broken off including the pegs and other tihngs. never felt like RMA a case with shipping would have costed too much to bother for the looks. anyways i am using a soltek kt890 pro mobo and it was working fuine in the crappy case. had it in there for about 1 week(very new build). then when i switched the mobo into the new case along with everyhting else now i am getting errors and can't get past post. My first soltek mobo gave me almost the same problem so i sent it back. i get the error C 1 and a loud 2-3 second beep then 2-3 seconds of silince and it does it over and over again. i never took out the RAM, CPU, or video card. tried reseating the RAM, didn't work. everything seems to be connected. please help me out
__________________

Jellybeans=yum is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 06:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Don't see how you remove & reinstall the mobo without also removing the graphics card (unless it's integrated of course).
Even so, whether you did or not, I would reseat the graphics card, they are notoriously twitchy when it comes to being securely inserted etc.

If that doesn't fix it, I would remove everything that isn't absolutely necessary from the system (ie all drives/cables, pci cards etc). It may also help if you remove the mobo from the case - it makes it easier to work on & eliminates any possibility of the case shorting out the board etc.

Could also try clearing the cmos to reset the bios.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 24
Default

um well could the mobo grounding against the case maybe cause a problem with it reading the RAM? because that is what is happening, by the LED error code it gives me. and the video card is fine and it PCI-E so it locks in with that hook thing
Jellybeans=yum is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.