gfx card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2004, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default gfx card

Alright, I need help ASAP please. I thought it was my monitor doing this shadow thing, but I switched out monitors and it's not. It's my Gfx card. It looks like a watercolor shadow. I just payed 140 for the 9600xt. I am going to a lan tomorrow and really want to get rid of this watercolor thing. My old graphic card did it, but I don't remember how I fixed it. It was a nvidia geforce 4 MX 440. Please reply ASAP. Thanks
__________________

woodworth is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

do u have the newest drivers?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I have the "wxp-mce-8-03-040610a-016126c.exe". I dled it from the ATI site, they didn't have any 9600xt, so I just dled the 9600 series drivers. That is waht it says in my display opitions as the card anyways. I think that driver is the newest.
woodworth is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

goto windowsupdate.com do a search for updates for your computer and look in the drivers section if there is any.

secondly, turn down the resolution and the refresh rate in your display settings and see if that helps.
xotix is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I updated and turned down my resolution and my refresh rate, I went down and it just hid it a bit, I could still see it. Went down to 43 hz. Any other suggestions?
woodworth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.