Getting video from VHS to Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2005, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Getting video from VHS to Computer in stereo

I was wondering what would be a good way to get VHS tapes onto the computer through A/V cables. I'm setting up a video editing computer for my uncle on a budget. I was going to put a Radeon 9600 All In Wonder but that doesn't have A/V inputs just Coax and S video.
Should I just get a A/V to Coax converter or not get the AIW and get a Tv tuner card or get a A/V to usb2 converter?

Also what would I need to get sound in and out in stereo? I would need a real sound card instead of intergrated wouldn't I?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Lasrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 363
Default

you need a t.v tuner =P

Cheers-
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y137/Lasrix/fags.jpg\" >
Lasrix is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

So I have to have a Tv tuner or are you saying its the best way?
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 11:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

No you dont have to use a TV Tuner card, but I agree its one of the best ways. If your VCR has RCA jacks or S-VIDEO you could buy something like dazzle. Then this way you could hook up other devices that use RCA to it as well. I prefer one of the gizmos that has all of that in one nice package such as ATI's All In Wonder series.

I myself had a ATI AIW and it worked great! but I needed more video card power for my games so had to ditch and bought this http://www.adstech.com/products/USBA...?pid=USBAV-704 it require a hefty amount of processing power since it goes through USB so make sure you look at the minimum system requirements.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Well I had originally picked out a 9600 AIW but he doesn't want to go through Coax because he said the quality was less. Is this true?
dario03 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Probably. It's the software that's gonna make the difference in terms of importing your videos. It could be a huge headache or a breeze.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

A friend of mine uses a "WinFast TV2000 XP Expert" All of his VHS videos come out perfect.

Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.