Getting really high ping on CS:Source? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 08:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yes

but speed doesn't really matter in games, your latency does (and upload too i think)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Speed matters too

I thought comcast was Canadian Only?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Speed matters too

I thought comcast was Canadian Only?
yea, i meant that he didn't necessarily need a LOT of dl speed

btw, comcast is very big in the US (probably the most widely used cable internet company)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

dj stop posting if you have no idea with you are talking about

comcast is us mainly

I can get 23 ping in cs:s on dfm clan server though I have not played there alot

I have 1.5 meg comcast and get the same ping as my friends 5 meg road runner

it also has alot to do with the connection on the other side of the server, or maybe just a slack server
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 09:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well comcast sounds like something up here, maybee cogeco.

And I do know what I am talking about, trust me.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

if you go to the dslreports forums, you'll know that comcast has a lot of problems

just because it doesn't apply to you doesn't mean it won't apply for the millions of other people that use it

i use adelphia and i admit it sucks ***
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

100 ping and 69 fps is pretty good; above average....I wouldn't be worrying about it... we have TV at 30 because any more fps we wouldn't care. Even at 27 or 28 we don't notice; at 25 you can start noticing differences...

>1000 kbps is pretty good....>4000 kbps is pretty good too...
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 10:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtests...com/1115692025

even though i get that, i get barely any servers that respond when i search on cs:s
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 11:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

only problem Ive had with comcast is when the dns servers went down and it was an easy fix and I've had comcast for 1 1/2 years, also my friend also uses it and has had is for 3 years and has yet to get one problem....
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 12:03 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

consider yourselves lucky

i've had adelphia for half a year and it's been hell after the first month i've got it

however the i love their blazing fast download speeds..but that's about it
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.