getting a new video card.. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2005, 05:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

delete everything on the hard drive.


you can't run 2 different cards at the same time, as it wont work, as if they are agp, then there isnt enough slots for them in the first place. and if it was pci, than the pc would choose one over the other, and with PCI express, you have two of the same cards, so it would work.

leaving the drivers on woud cause clashes with the new ones.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by r1c3_808
i talked to my classmate as skul, he said that you can just swap the card without uninstalling the driver and you can probably have two card at once with two drivers. He's just retarded right? Because i want to make sure, i dont want to #*(&$# up my system.
You can run an AGP and PCI graphics card at the same time. However it's annoying and hard to run.

Best thing to do is reinstall, but i have gotten away swapping brands of cards without a reinstall.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 02:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 111
Default

ok, sorry but i dont really understand what to do... The simplelest thing that i understand how to do is probably to uninstall the old driver from the device manager , then shut down and switch cards. That will work right?
r1c3_808 is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 03:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by r1c3_808
ok, sorry but i dont really understand what to do... The simplelest thing that i understand how to do is probably to uninstall the old driver from the device manager , then shut down and switch cards. That will work right?
yes!!!! you don't need to format yoru computer!!!
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.