Getting Hypertransport down - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default Getting Hypertransport down

After smoking my Biostar, and getting bored with Intel getting hotter and hotter, I'm gonna switch to AMD.

I have been researching this Hypertransport a lot and wanted to clarify something.

The LDT multiplier and the core clock equals the HTT speed, and the core multiplier and clock equal the CPU speed. correct?

I found the Abit AN8 and the 3200+ Winchester to be a good combo for myself.

I'll have about $400 between those, and an eVGA 6600gt by the beginning of summer.
Comments...
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

sounds good to me
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You've done your homework, you hit it bang on.

With Venice coming out (tomorow) I'd recommend you look past a Winchester. Since you're going with a Winchester and an Abit, I'm assuming you're interested in overclocking, and the Venice core is what you're looking for.

It uses the same 90nm process but uses even lower voltage and remains stable on very high clock increases on very little vcore increase.

Pair it with a DFI lanparty nf4 and the sky is the limit.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Which you can't find at newegg or tigerdirect just yet.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Yea, I dont need top of the line just yet, I just want farcry and doom3 to look better.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.