Getting a good power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default Getting a good power supply?

Is it really important to get a good power supply? I'm getting a new computer, and I can choose between the 420w power supply that comes with the case(i can't find a namebrand), or pay 70$ more for a 480w thermaltake powersupply. I'd rather keep my 70 dollars, but if it really does make a difference to get a good power supply I'll pay some more.
__________________

JoshM is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Other people will say get the new power supply... but, personally, I say keep the money. I've been running my computer fine since I got it, and it has a crappy 500W power supply that came in a Broadway case (Okia was the brand I think).

Unless you have really demanding parts (Lots of drives, 6800 video cards) then don't worry about it.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

The 420W one that comes with the case should be fine. However, makes such as Thermaltake and Antec are very high quality, and are worth looking at. The power supply is what powers the rest of the computer, and so if it breaks it can damage the other parts too. So make sure you have a decent supply.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 02:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Cool, thanks for the replies.
JoshM is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

another reason for a non-stock PS is the noise
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

get the thermaltake. Crap PSUs (which come with all cases, except Antec or Thermaltake Cases) will likely crap out and take your system with it. Its worth the money
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 03:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah I had a crappy PSU take out an ENTIRE HIGH END COMPUTER -mouse, keyboard and monitor.

Thermaltake TT-420AD are great and cheap, should be 37\38$
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.