GeForce4 TI 4200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2005, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default GeForce4 TI 4200

I just acquired a geforce4 ti 4200 agp video card today and at first it seemed alright. Any time I try to test the functionality of the card it'll go fine until it starts teesting the 3d graphics. At that point it'll freeze and i'll have dots all over the screen. Could this be flawed settings, or just the card its self may be bad?
__________________

icemakr is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Card could be bad. Make sure that the driver for that card is up to date
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

Yeah ive double and triple checked every minute little thing, and i guess am just trying to stay in denial. Its better here.
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Sounds like it's overheating, open your case and see if it still does that
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

I just uninstalled all nvidias software for this damn thing and ran a utility on it with success, with just windows generic driver. I have the newest driver for it. And without thinking I opened up my case and have my fan blowing into it, so maybe that's what helped? I'm reinstalling the drivers now, we'll see.
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

100% overheating, I have the Ti4200 and I had to put an NVSilencer on it, that puny little green HS sucks.
Invest in better cooling.
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 04:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Overheating, oooorrrrr...the drivers for the card and chipset aren't right....oooorrrr....the gpu voltage is set wrong.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 10:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

the card works fine until i the diagnostics i try to run gets into the 3d portion of the test. I put my gf4 mx440 back in, at least that one's running correctly.
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

i have that card and i have no heat problems. Maybe I am lucky?
__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 03:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

and im sure if i would actually go and buy something new i would rarely see problems that i see
__________________

icemakr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.