geforce4 prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2003, 06:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default geforce4 prob

Hello readers,

Today I purchased Mechwarrior 4. I installed it and everything, and clicked on "instant action".

Once in the game thousands of different coloured triangles flickered on the screen, instead of what should be there (landscape, and a view out of a cockpit of a mechwarrior).

This also happens, but not as much, on delta force land warrior, and fifa 2002. I believe it is a problem with lighting transparency, vectors etc ?

I have just finished downloading and installing the latest nvidia drivers with no better result.

I have a Ti4200 GeForce4 64mb DDR graphics card, 512mb DDR RAM, 1800+XP Athlon, Windows 2000, and am using directX v8.1

These pictures show what I am seeing. (Bear in mind that the print screen feature takes away some of the triangles)

This image shows what its like at the worst of times

This image shows what it is like at the best of times



Every other game apart from the three listed above work perfectly.

If you know of any fix for this, or any help. it would be greatly appreciated.!

regards,
imation
__________________

imation is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

Who makes the geforce board?

what version of the detonator drivers are you using?
__________________

Seloce is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

the different detail and resolution settings i have tried.

no errors on dxdiag at all, as i said, every other game works perfectly aside from those three. e.g. i can run max payne full detail 1280 resolution with no errors and no lag.

the detonator drivers are the latest ones. version 41.09. the maker of my geforce4 is triplex.

and why are you being sarcastic about "and those images are unexceptable to you" ? my answer to that is hell yes. how can I play the game when I cannot even see anything ?
imation is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 15
Default

hey those graphics are awsome!! the trees look so real!! I am getting that card!
DeveloperX is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

If it is alright with you, update to DX9.

You may also check your BIOS setup and try disabling any 'problematic features' such as sideband addressing and try lowering your aperture to 64 MB if you haven't done so - and see if it has any effect.

Download the latest 4-in-1 driver set if you have a VIA chipset motherboard, as well as the AMD processor fix for Windows 2000 (downloadable from AMD's site)

As a last resort, this actually may sound crazy, but it worked on my friend's GeForce4 Ti 4600 with flashing texture problems under the 42.xx and above driver sets - go into the display panel, select your card's tab - and set antialiasing settings to 'no antialiasing' or force a certain level - leaving it to 'application preference' caused some problems.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Thumbs down

thankyou for your pointless and pathetic replys DeveloperX and MicroBell. they really put me a step closer to solving this problem.


i have put two more screenies below after disabling anti aliasing, downloading the agp patch for win2k (registry entry), downloading and installing the 4 in 1 drivers set, and could you please explain "aperture" and why i need to lower it to 64mb when my card is ONLY 64mb, not 128.



imation is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Quote:
thankyou for your pointless and pathetic replys DeveloperX and MicroBell. they really put me a step closer to solving this problem.
Chill man, they are just havin a little fun with you. These types of problems are gonna happen as long as windows exists. You need to learn to laugh at it.

If you have a fit everytime something doesnt work on your computer your gonna have a heart attack at an early age.

People who know the answer will post it, the others poke fun, but its not intended as anything but.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 10:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

is it safe to say i wasnt going nuts? its called sarcasm, and ive been around forums as long as i can remember and im just getting to that stage where spammers and pointless posts annoy me, especially when you get emailed per reply.

i hope you can understand where i am coming from.


Update: Just been in bios, changed aperture to 32mb!! it was on 64, no change. And there is no feature called sideband addressing.
imation is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 11:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

1) Don't change the AGP aperture (amount of system memory available to the graphics card) to anything below 64 MB, unless you have less than that amount of RAM - generally set it to 1/2 your system RAM (e.g. if you have 256 MB, set to 128 MB, etc.), but 64 MB is pretty safe for now.

2) Some features may not be found in the BIOS setup; it generally depends on your motherboard and whatever revision of the BIOS you're using.

3) Try using a 3x.xx driver set (30.82 being the latest of the series and most stable) - you may sacrifice some of the extra performance, but it usually means better compatibility.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 03-07-2003, 11:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

GeForce, the 30 series was the version of drivers I was using before updating to the 40 series.
__________________

imation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.