Geforce FX vs. Geforce 4 vs. Radeon 9700? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2003, 06:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mm9004
True, the gaming world will now begin to move faster than comprehesion... but I still hold that it will run on my GeForce FX 5200 Ultra (128DDR, 650 MHz)... But then what do I know? I haven't seen the trailer.
seriously, Moore's law stopped applying to graphics card ages ago because they were just ripping along at an unheard of pace.

I think it will get even more crazy with the current ATI vs. nVidia thing going on, with new products coming out like every 4-6 months with a new line every 12-18 months. New technologies barely seen before, like DDRII, will push it even farther.
__________________

g5orbust is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 06:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by g5orbust
Im not sure how well the hardware of today will hold up against DOOM3
Isnt that game built off of the Geforce 3? or was being built off of that until the latest cards now
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 09:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

The game was geared towards GeForce3 and above, but older cards may be able to play the game, just with less detail. (Probably the lowest you could stoop is GeForce 256-level)

I originally played the alpha over a GF3 card, and performance is acceptable (base level 30fps) if AA is not enabled.

HL2, on the other hand, appears to be quite scalable (min. specifications I last heard from was 700 MHz CPU + TNT2 card)

Certain games are the same situation as well, for example, if you want to play UT2003 over a Voodoo3 or TNT2, it'll still work fine (as long as you use =<640×480 resolution and 16bpp color depth, of course, with details toned to minimum).
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 09:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Mm9004
Default

Maybe [whoever made DOOM3] is buying all the time they can because they over-shot the v-card industry. Alot is riding on the realase of that thing, they better make sure current home computers can run the thing before they sell it. Wouldn't want to realase a product that only the government could handle.

"What are you doing??"

"Playing DOOM 3"

"On there??"

"where else would I play it?"

"Good point."

*Both sit down to play DOOM on the SETI satedish computers. The aliens see what they are doing and take a new interest in mankind. "Sir! The humans have had a sudden burst of technology! They are playing DOOM."

"Already? That would put them decades above our calculations. Commandor! Bring me the Laptop! It's time I returned our friends calls."

"What? WE SPENT BILLIONS OF DOLLARS SEARCHING FOR YOU AND WE FINALLY GET YOUR ATTENTION AND NOW YOU WANT US TO TELL YOU THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE???? FORGET IT!"

call ends and aliens sulk as they go obsolite.
Mm9004 is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 10:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Martin
The game was geared towards GeForce3 and above, but older cards may be able to play the game, just with less detail. (Probably the lowest you could stoop is GeForce 256-level)

I originally played the alpha over a GF3 card, and performance is acceptable (base level 30fps) if AA is not enabled.

HL2, on the other hand, appears to be quite scalable (min. specifications I last heard from was 700 MHz CPU + TNT2 card)

Certain games are the same situation as well, for example, if you want to play UT2003 over a Voodoo3 or TNT2, it'll still work fine (as long as you use =<640×480 resolution and 16bpp color depth, of course, with details toned to minimum).
dude! you played doom 3?!?!??
C_olin is offline  
Old 11-01-2003, 11:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

The Doom 3 alpha leak has been surfacing around the web for a year already; look on P2P networks.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 02:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

on the topic of getting a video card, If you go into a computer shop and they know you are not a computer expert they WILL take advantage of that!!

why don't they just release Doom 3 and make a Doom 4 already?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 09:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to Mm9004
Default

Not necessarily.

Yes, its time to just let it go... if it doesn't work then it doesn't work. Release DOOM. (would probably have more fun playing DOOM 1 anyway)
Mm9004 is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 11:58 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

think the 5700-5950 FXz would do any good with them?
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 05:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to C_olin
Default

ok... thanks fro the tips, and i think ill go with a 9600 pro...

I'm just interested martin.... what p2p program you use? i searched on k++ and got nothing...
__________________

C_olin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.