geforce fx 5700 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2004, 11:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default geforce fx 5700

i just bought this card here, well my dad did for his comp, , we bought it to hold us over untill the 512mb cards come out. is this good to hold us over? and does anyone know when about when the 512mb cards will come out?

compy is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543

they wont be out for a looooonnggg time. They have turned to SLI for more RAM.

15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

ohhh great, well will this do us some good until they come out?
compy is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684

If i were you i would have got the card i'm looking at its the GeForce FX 5700 128MB what you got was the 5700LE it has a slower clock speed than the regular card. Or you could check out cause they have the 5600 on sale for 50 bucks.

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans

My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya

The GeForce FX 5700LE has a slower clock speed. It probably won't play new games very well, especially with decent graphics settings, in even less than a year. On the other hand, modern games don't yet utilize 256MB yet, so it will be a very long time before you need 512MB. If you want something that will last a long time, get the ATI Radeon X800 or GeForce 6800 Ultra.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

Personally, I'm still running on a GForce FX 5600 256MB and it runs games just fine. I run HL, Farcry, WC3, Halo, Starwars Jedi Academy and Starwars Jedi Outcast.

Granted the graphics do need to be turned down a bit, but the game is still the same. You don't need to go out and spend $400 on the latest and greatest Vid card that will be outdated in about 3 months.

2nd generation cards work just fine for most games that have come out. Your 5700 should work just fine for gaming, even if it is an LE.

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 07-09-2004, 10:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

hmmmm... i'm dub thee le version thy LAZY EDITION! oh boy, how am i gonna tell my dad this one. i hope i can still turn it back in...
compy is offline  
Old 07-10-2004, 01:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527

Umm i think it will hold you over fine i got my nvidia ti 4600 2 years ago to date and its held me over fine. That card will last until 64 bit. But most applications wont take advantages of 64bit so their will be no need in upgrading and no games will utilize 512 like said but rendering and video programs will utilize every bit of it
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 01:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

alright cool cool, i don't have to sweat anymore lol.
compy is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 02:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2

wuts the best grafix card around?

thesonyman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.