Geforce FX 5600 help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default Geforce FX 5600 help!

I just got my geforce fx 5600 256mb ddr card today. Tried plugging it in and nothing; totally dead. The old one reinstalls fine, before I send it back as doa, wanted to check if theres something else that could be at fault? my power supply is 250W DC.
__________________

Hertzy42 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

oh also, if it helps, my old card is a geforce2 something 64mb of ram.
__________________

Hertzy42 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I believe you have to completely disable your old card and uninstall the drivers in Windows XP, and if its an integrated card you are moving from, you need to change some BIOS settings as well. What kind of computer do you have and give me its specs.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

well i installed a completely new harddrive along with it, so i'm not sure it's a driver thing. the motherboard is a SY-K7VTA PRO v.1.0. the processor at the moment is a 1.0ghz duron (though while not on topic, a new 2.0ghz athlon xp is on the way). I have a 256mb pc133 chip for memory. the one i'm moving from installs in the same slot, its not integrated or anything.

edit: SY = SOYO by the way
Hertzy42 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

if it is a power supply problem, how much power would the new one need to produce?
Hertzy42 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

You need at least 300W for that card to work efficiently. Really, 250W isn't enough. But it should still work, you will just lag in games.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

right. well i planned on getting a better supply, but i should be getting SOMETHING out of it, right? the cooling fan doesnt spin, nada. ok, off to the post office i go i guess.
Hertzy42 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I believe it says right in the instruction manual that comes with that card it "requires" a 350watt PSU. Take a look, my friend just bought the same card and had to pruchase a new PSU.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 03:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah I have the 5700 card and it says atleast 300, I'd suggest looking into a 350w or better just for upgrade room in the future.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 09:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

my manual is four pages long and doesnt say anything of the sort. its also written in really poor english, and the online pdf didnt say anything about power requirements either. well, I guess I could go buy the new PSU and try it out before sending the thing back. thanks.
__________________

Hertzy42 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.