geforce fx 5500 for doom is it possible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default geforce fx 5500 for doom is it possible?

i have a emachine t2642 2.60g celeron 512 megs ramm but i have a intergrated intel extream graphics card i have no agp slots only pci i know the 6600 and the 6800 are the best but they are agp will the 5500 run doom or am i just screwed.
__________________

helpless is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You wouldn't have a chance of running Doom 3 with that computer.

Doom, however, is quite possible. :P
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

celeron is the worst possible current processor for gaming
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to neo214
Default

Maby on 640x480?
__________________
Later!
neo214 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

Quote:
You wouldn't have a chance of running Doom 3 with that computer.
I wouldnt quite say that man. i hav epractically that same machine cept mines an AMD and i have a 5600ultra. it runs doom3 on high settings
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It'll run it, just not good or with any eye appealing settings and even then I'm pretty sure it'd lag
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

That's definatly not the same machine.. lol
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

well its practically the same thing cause he has a 2.6 celeron and i have a 2600+.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea man it'll run Doom but don't know about Doom 3 LMAO that was funny but I really don't think he can run it with that processor.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 11:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default

i think he can. my friend runs doom3 w/ a 5200 and a P3 1gig.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.