Geforce FX 5200 (not ultra) over MX 440? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2004, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Question Geforce FX 5200 (not ultra) over MX 440?

I have been looking for a better video card to put in my moms computer. My dads has a Radeon 9600 XT, so Im okay there, but my moms has a TERRIBLE Geforce MX 440-SE AGP 4x.

When comparing the two, the FX 5200 Looks much better.

FX 5200 -
AGP 8x
DX 9 Support
128mb of video memory

MX 440 SE -
AGP 4x (bleh)
DX 8 Support (bleh for gamers)
64mb of video memory (aging every day......)

So how much better do you think the FX 5200 would be?????
At walmart it costs just 100$ or less, so would it be worth buying to replace my MX 440? (the reason why I'm not shooting for better cards is simply due to financial reasons, heh)

Thanks for any help!
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

You will notice an immediate difference in your game play. You are going to find that there is more detail in the maps and clarity of the game.

If you are going to use it for just surfing the net or checking email, you won't see any major difference.

The benefit would be for the graphic extensive applications.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Ok, thanks for the help.

Do you have a Geforce FX 5200 (non ultra) and if not, have you ever tried one?

Like you said about applications that need graphics power, that is for me and is the reason why i need it.

I am pretty much a PC gamer and that is one of the main things I do on my PC :P

Once again, thanks for the help. These forums rule!!!!
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

I have a 5200 256MB - its awesome...
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

When compared to the 440... Yes ..the 5200 is a far superior card .. n' u will defianately notice a major differance on any game.

But think 'bout it again .. if ur as u say pretty much a PC gamer ..then i would definately not suggest u to go for the 5200 ...
Go for the Radeon 9600 or atleast the 5600 FX ( though if between the 2 the 9600 is way better)
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HoLoCroN
I have a 5200 256MB - its awesome...
Oh, ok

Is it the non-ultra version?

If so, what games do you play, and how well do they run?
(im talking about major graphic games such as BF Vietnam, C&C Generals, Call of Duty, you get the point! )
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chubz
Oh, ok

Is it the non-ultra version?

If so, what games do you play, and how well do they run?
(im talking about major graphic games such as BF Vietnam, C&C Generals, Call of Duty, you get the point! )

You don't need 256mb of memory because todays games can't fully utilize it yet.
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

i never have any graphics problems and i'm only using a geforce 3 ti 200 128mb ... no slowdown or problems when using the highest settings in games!

so am guessing that any card above this has got to be pretty good!!!!
__________________
hygor is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 01:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

K, thx so much for the help guys
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.