Geforce FX 5200 - is it evil? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2003, 01:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Angry Geforce FX 5200 - is it evil?

I have just bought a Geforce 5200 FX 128mb graphics card and after installation whenever I run my PC it freezes and I have to manually reboot.

I have downloaded latest drivers for my motherboard as well as the graphics card itself but still no luck. I'm all out of ideas and need some help - pleeeease!

I'm using:

Athlon XP 1700+
524mb PC133 RAM
SiS 735 motherboard with latest drivers
300w power
Win XP Professional with Direct 9x
__________________

sven is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

That could be a tuff one. Could be the card , could be the driver. See how it runs in safe mode. where does it freeze. Does it freeze in games or after acouple mins. Also do you have another computer around to try it in. What OS are you using.
__________________

__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I'm using Win XP Pro...

It seems to freeze regardless of what I do, even if I don't touch PC. Games freeze it up straight away.

Since last post I have rolled back all old AGP and Geforce drivers and started from scratch and added new beta driver from NVIDIA (52.14)...3 minutes so far and no freeze. Maybe it's fixed?
sven is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

I have heard all kinds of problems with different detonators. They once did a push here at work and updated over 1000 computers with the newest driver. By the end of the day they were rolling back every ones. Caused lots of problem.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 10-20-2003, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Use the 45.23 drivers instead...

Check with a hardware monitor (e.g. MBM, HMonitor, etc.) that your motherboard, AGP are getting sufficient voltage.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default

24 hours on...

Played Counter Strike for 3 hours in OpenGl with Geforce 5200 no problems. However, PC is back to freezing and crashing again this morning so have opted to return it and spend the money on a nice new Radeon 9200 128mb instead.
sven is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 17
Default

I had the EXACT same problem. It's your power supply. It's only 300w, I had the same problem until I got a bigger power supply. I've never had a problem since. And I wouldn't suggest ATI, I've had a terrible time with them.
hempage is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 09:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

forrrrrrrrrrrrrrmat
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-21-2003, 10:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 51
Default

Did you make sure that you disabled integrated graphics (if you have them)? What kind of computer are you running? Did you disable the Windows drivers for the integrated graphics as well (again, if you have them)? I had an eMachines that was donated to my design studio (certainly not MY computer ), and it didn't have any BIOS option to disable onboard video, so I had to boot in Safe Mode and disable the drivers that Windows had installed for integrated graphics.

Btw, I'm using a FX 5200 with no problems. I really like it because it is a relatively decent card that has dual-VGA support built in!
ultimadesigns is offline  
Old 11-18-2003, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Default Geforce flicker

My computer loads up and everything, but after about 3 minutes it starts to flicker any time I go into something. I am running Windows XP, GeForce FX 5200 Ultra, AMD 2500, with a Shuttle AN-35 board. I have downloaded the latest drivers and installed a new 300 W power supply, is that big enough for this card? Any step by step help would be much appreciated.
__________________

gandalf970 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.