Geforce FX 5200 or 5500 oc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2005, 11:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 165
Default Geforce FX 5200 or 5500 oc?

WHich should i buy? I only have PCI. I know it is outdated. I know i should upgrade to AGP or PCI-E. I am quite aware of this. I dont want any "SAve the money you were gonna use on one of those and buy a new mobo" and such. I am upgrading in 2-3 months. Right now, PCI is my only option. So which one? I am NOT concerned about getting ultra settings on Doom 3 or Half life 2. I just want to play them. I dont mind low settings at all. There are some 256 mb 5200's but i have heard that it is too much memory for it. I want it to last me the 2-3 months until i upgrade. Thnx for the help.
__________________

Manhuntkotor is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well then get the 5200 if your going to upgrade in a few months.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The nvidia FX series totally sucks. Get a radeon 9250. i have seen some in pci on newegg before.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

the 9250 is a much better buy, unless you get a PCI GeForceFX 5700
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 12:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Since you're upgrading in a few months just get the radeon 9250, much better performance than the 5200.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 02:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

The whole FX series blows, I have the 5200, its ok, I have OC'd the hell out of it. got it to like 310/415..
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 07-02-2005, 06:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to aqeelraza Send a message via Yahoo to aqeelraza
Default

FX5200 is Good.. I am using this and its working very fine with latest games..
__________________

aqeelraza is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.