Geforce 6800GT or Radeon X800pro ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2004, 10:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default Geforce 6800GT or Radeon X800pro ?

As the topic, which graphic you will choose between Geforce 6800GT and X800pro.

I also have another questions about the manufacture of the graphic cards. Which brands is more reliable for geforce and radeon ?

thanks
__________________

Legit13 is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

this has just became very difficult to decide now as when two new chipsets arrived.

as I'm into too much of graphic cards, so this time i'll recommend nVidia 6800 series, only flaw it has is its bigger and it rquires 2 Power connectors. else nVidia came with brand new architecture this time.

as far as manufacturer is concerned, ATI as well built themselves the cards. so Best is to get theirs, else in both, you can go with ASUS
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

yea.. check out ravin's thread (with the poll)... that might help u decide if u read everyones posts
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 10:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

I would get a 6800 GT because it supports SM 3.0 and has 16 pipelines like the 6800 Ultra and the X800 XT , while the X800 Pro has 12 pixel pipelines and doesn't support SM 3.0 .In the reviews I've seen comparing them they are on th same level , although in many areas( Open GL and DirectX) it out performs the X800 Pro more often than the Pro out performs it in many games they play at both equal fps though . Well, in my thinking if something is at the same or greater performance level and costs less and supports more advanced features there isn't a question of what I would buy . ATI cards are quality cards and are by no means cheap and deffective and last , but if you want cards that are known to last for a long time then that's another reason to get Nvidia . Did some research and saw that only the ultra version hs two power connectors , while the 6800 and 6800 GT only require one power connector .
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

thats y i recommended nVidia (shader Model 3.0) unique to this beast. + nvidia is solid company, if ATi came with some flagship in past, doesnt measn that ATi remains on TOP.

Proessionals use nVidia. weather they are gaming or graphic work, by the time I bought my ATi, 6800 wasnt released, else i would have gone forthat, also, nVidia's last series FX, wasnt good that much.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Yeah the 5950 ultra couldn't even beat a 9800 Pro
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 01:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

I have the 6800 GT, my some people i know have x800 pro's and 9800's and mine beats them on the benches will relativley similar pc specs. The 6800 on takes one power connecter though...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 01:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

u sure it takes one power connector? or u r talking anout that new power connectors that joins in 2 molar connectors.

as nVidia designed this new board, with special connector, that takes in 2 molars.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 03:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

The Ultras take two all other 6800s take one power connector . The PCI-E form of the 6800 GT takes a special type of molex connector .
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-24-2004, 04:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

here is a link to the first DOOM 3 bench mark. NVIDIA seems to have the lead but is it because they optimized their drivers for this particular game again.
http://www2.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NjQy
You can find plenty of reviews, check Tom's hardware and Anand tech sites.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.