GeForce 6800 and Pixel Shader 3.0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2004, 11:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Exclamation GeForce 6800 and Pixel Shader 3.0

Is the 6800 going to support pixel shader 3.0. Because i heard it does and to run half life to as good as it gets you will need pixel shader 3.0.Im looking into a x800 and if it only has pixel shader 2.0 thats mighty dumb. Because if im going to spend 400 or so bucks then i wanna run half life to as good as it gets. So pls tell And good night.
__________________

__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

6800 will support 3.0
x800 will not as far as i am aware.

6800 will also fully support dirextX 9c where as x800 will not.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Half-Life 2's graphics are mediocre, anyways, if your computer isn't struggling with FarCry, HL2 should run fine, I mean, they do give you the game voucher with a 9600XT, so I don't think the reqs are gonna be that steep.
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 104
Default

I just wanna know if the quality of half life 2 will be alittle below a 6800s because they are the top of the line cards these days and we all know that fx cards beats radeons quality but will it make a lot of differance with pixel shader 3.0.
__________________
Super Lan Boy
AMD XP 2800 (Barton Core)
1024mb Kingston 3200 RAM
Gainward Ti 4800 128mb
120Gig HD 7200rpm SATA 150 8meg
40Gig HD 7200rpm ata 100 8meg Buff
Gigabyte K7 triton SE mobo
Black Lights with green cables
Windows Xp Home
52X24X52 CD/RW
DVD Player
450 watt psu
BIG_AIZZLE is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 06:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wartorment
Half-Life 2's graphics are mediocre, anyways, if your computer isn't struggling with FarCry, HL2 should run fine, I mean, they do give you the game voucher with a 9600XT, so I don't think the reqs are gonna be that steep.
They throw in a voucher for 9600se, and that can't even play farcry with pleasing FPS.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 07:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BIG_AIZZLE
I just wanna know if the quality of half life 2 will be alittle below a 6800s because they are the top of the line cards these days and we all know that fx cards beats radeons quality but will it make a lot of differance with pixel shader 3.0.
It depends if Half Life 2 uses PS3.0. You could get the X800 however, they would be outdated when DX9.0c games come out which would be a very long time. Personally, i would get the 6800 because with PS3.0 and DX9.0c support, it would last longer before i throw it away.

Here is a card i want to get after it comes out:
http://www.bfgtech.com/6800GTOC.html
Nice requirements too.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 01:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I thought it was DOOM3 that would take advantage of PS3.0
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
I thought it was DOOM3 that would take advantage of PS3.0
Doom 3 is an Open Gl game. Since nVidia works wonder with Open Gl and nVidia work with the makers of Doom 3, it "might" utilize PS3.0.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Behold ladies and gentlemen, Pictures of Farcry with the sm3.0 patch.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....threadid=93143
Pretty lights, eh? Something the 6800 has that the X800 doesn't and can't do.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 02:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Oh crap, does that mean I just wasted $425 on an X800 thats already outdated?
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.