Geforce 6800 GS - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 06:38 AM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

no i dont think it can
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:49 AM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

we don't know yet
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 04:54 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
here are the specs that i found
6800 GS 425/1100
6800 GT 350/1000
6800 ULTRA 400/1100
Theres a link on the first page of this thread dude....the GS has memory of 1GHz not 1.1GHz which the Ultra does...beyond that it has all the benches and all the reasons why it doesn't beat it out.
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:14 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

6800GS will overclock to 540/1230...

http://www.hothardware.com/viewartic...leid=747&cid=2
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:51 PM   #35 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Theres a link on the first page of this thread dude....the GS has memory of 1GHz not 1.1GHz which the Ultra does...beyond that it has all the benches and all the reasons why it doesn't beat it out.
he must of saw the XFX version of the GS they have it at 1100 mhz stock.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:58 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I guess...theres always some companies who decide to have different clocks....just like with the 6600GT AGP some companies had memory at 900 some had it at 1ghz.

Well aside from the memory, the whole benches, why it's not as powerful were still answered in the beginning of this thread with that link.

Quote:
6800GS will overclock to 540/1230...

http://www.hothardware.com/viewarti...cleid=747&cid=2
jesus man that's ridiculous. 6217 is the highest I've gotten with my 6800GT and that's watercooled and I've overclocked the crap out of it....I wonder how well that GS would overclock if water cooled?

Apparently it'd run cooler, draw less power, and be more powerful once you overclock it.

However, you'd just have to hope you got as lucky as those guys but you know they are just using regular air cooling.

BAH!

Nvidia pretty much made the 6800GT and Ultra look like crap with this card lol...WHERE WAS THIS MONTHS AGO!?
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:31 PM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Lol yea, so the 6800GS overclocked, with it's 12 pipelines, beat's your 6800GT overclocked, and it has 16 pipelines. Who woulda thunk it .

I just can't wait to get my new system. First I will have to install windows on the OEM clock settings, then build my way up to hopefully 3ghz. Then once that is stable, I will have to start with the vid card.

I should have an extreme gaming machine when I'm done.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:19 PM   #38 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i would wait till the M2 sockets wer out if i wuz you i mean you are getting it in decemer the M2 is being released in quarter 1 and buy then you will have more cash.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 12:58 AM   #39 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

It's SLI ready. Think I found the card for my first SLI system.
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 11:26 AM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

SLI makes no sense man the price for the performance gain is too little
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.