GeForce 4 TI 4800 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2003, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default GeForce 4 TI 4800

I have decided to maybe buy a geforce 4 TI 4800 but the only thing that is really holding me back is that my cousin put one in his computer and his computer wouldn't start up. He put his old video card back in and it worked just fine. Then he put the ti 4800 back in and his computer wouldn't boot up. He tried this with several different ti 4800s and all did the same thing. He finally came to the conclusion that it wasn't getting enough power so he put a 650 watt power supply in his computer and it worked just fine. Are all ti 4800s like this or would a 400 watt psu power it just fine. I really don't want to get a new psu so if that is the case then i can count that option out.
__________________

__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

I've had a Radeon 9700 Pro work in my system (400W PSU).. and that card is very power consuming. Maybe the power supply was faulty or of very low quality. The GeForce line is pretty power-hungry, but in most cases, even a machine with, say a 200W PSU can boot up with it, just the questionable part of being stable.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

Here is a link to a VERY comprehensive guide to choosing a power supply. It is a little technical, but a very good read and it should answer any questions you may have.

http://firingsquad.gamers.com/guides/power_supply/
Seloce is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 02:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 33
Default

What kind of power supply was he running when it was giving him problems?

Also, did he have alot of other things running at once, like alot of fans or lights or multiple drives?
plasmaorb is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 07:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211
Default

He had an enermax 500 watt power supply. He has a cd burner, two pull out drives, a cd rom, a newq sound thingy
__________________
~ Nick
Owner of Maximum CPU and MaxCPU Hosting
neb1211 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.