GeForce 4 owners! drag ur butt here! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Arrow GeForce 4 owners! drag ur butt here!

Lo!


As I have a GeForce 4 (Ti4200@300/600) myself I'm curious to know what (newer) games are you...enjoying with that card and how well they are running and with what settings. I'd like to know if there's anyone out there using their gf4 with games like doom3, HL2, Far Cry etc.

I'm thinking of purchasing Far Cry.
__________________

LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

yeah i have Geforce 4 MX 4000 I play HL2 with low settings and works fine (with some slows) Half life 2 gives a recomendation for settings for each pc If you dont change them you are good By the way dont dream about Far Cry it will run slow as hell with 3dAnalyzer
__________________

__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

Get FarCry. I beat the game just a few months ago with that exact card not OC'd
I got 25-30 FPS @ 1024x768 no AA or AS. It was beautiful. :sniffle:
I've also played Doom3 and HL2 with practically the same results.
If you can live with a little lag then you are set.
-Joe
__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

Geforce4 Ti4400 128mb

Plays Farcry Well
HL2 on medium settings
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 02:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

geforce 4 mx420

plays hl2 and far cry no problem on 800x600 with some good graphical settings.
doom3 however 640x480 has a reeeeeal hard time. i can't even over clock it cause the game will just go retarded.
UT 2004 - fairly old, but i can have some sweet settings for it.

6600GT i'm hardcore debating though. damn guitar amp is up against it lol.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You want the graphics card <-_->

My 440 was able to play HL2 all low

However it's seen it's days, i got a 6600GT, did some modding to the 440, and it outputted crap too yellowish
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 07:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

Thanks for sharing your experiences, hi-techs. I'll try to cope with this current card still for a while...i'm really looking forward to see how these new generation cards perform and what they cost...and when the prices come down to more accetable level...
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Jae
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 245
Default

hrmmm i got a MX4000 128mb and ive only played cs and DoD, im afraid it won't be able to handle anthing else
__________________
Lenovo Thinkpad X220
i7 2620M
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
320GB HDD 5400rpm :(
Jae is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 11:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

My GeForce4MX could only play UT2004 on Medium, couldn't handle Far Cry. Luckly I built my new PC before Doom 3 and HL2 came out. I have to say the GeForce 4 MX isn't a gaming card at all, and is only a step above onboard graphics. Its only DX7 for crying out loud!
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I used to have the MX440, and like exntion said, it has a reeeeeeeal difficult time with Doom on 640x480. But the 440 is the minumum card Doom requires.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.