geforce 4 doesnt work at all! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2003, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12
Default geforce 4 doesnt work at all!

Argh Please Help! i just got a new geforce 4, and i installed it right, but when i turn it on, then simply nothing happens, i get no monitor activity at all. everything works fine with my tnt2 riva. please help! Im using Xp, i've got 1.1gig processor, and 256 ram.

clearlyunaware is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

Be sure your power supply can supply enough juice to the card - 300W max. will usually do, for a quality PSU.

If you have tried re-seating the card, as well as your RAM modules, try taking out every card except for the GeForce and try it from there - if it still doesn't, then there's a case of an electrical short on the board.

Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 05:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12

its weird actually, recently my computer decided that i didnt have a riva tnt 2 at all, and it doesnt show a display adapter in the device list. Everything runs exactly as normal though! it wont detect it either, my computer is just uber tempermental. i didnt think i'd have to uninstall it, as its the same driver back anyway, right? any more help would be Greatly apreciated.
clearlyunaware is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

Fdisk, Format, Re-install, Do-Da Do-da, Fdisk, Format, Re-install, all the do-da day.
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 06:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12

i'll try the taking everything out but the card idea i guess. i've got 300w power supply, so that should be fine. i really don't wanna format and re-do everything, i've got so much i don't wanna lose... my computer isnt even giving me a display adapters choice in device manager, is that linked?
clearlyunaware is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 121

You Should get a monitor signal when you first install, make sure that card is jamed in all the way!
256MB PC-133
Windoze XP Pro (stolen)
40GB Maxtor HD
Nvidia TNT2 32MB
Afreey CD-ROM 56x
Acer CD-RW 24x10x40

GerkSide is offline  
Old 02-05-2003, 06:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 28

My computer doesn't didn't detect my g-force video card either. Not until I installed the software that it came with, did the computer see it..
vdalian is offline  
Old 02-05-2003, 04:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12

k..i have know have it working, like it is actually displaying stuff now. but windows won't recognise that i have it, i simply have no display adapter in the windows device list. within display properties etc, its simply as 'Vgasave' with no driver update option, just current status and a startup type option. i really have no idea whats going on. i've installed the nvidia xp driver pack and its made no difference. thanks for your help so far guys, its truly appreciated..
clearlyunaware is offline  
Old 05-17-2003, 02:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1
Angry Help, I have the same problem

I have the same problem, if anyone have the answer please tell me.
chakal is offline  
Old 05-17-2003, 03:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Qiranworms's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635

Originally posted by Ecniv
Fdisk, Format, Re-install, Do-Da Do-da, Fdisk, Format, Re-install, all the do-da day.
SO TRUE! :laughing: LOL.

The universal solution to EVERY problem your computer might have, except of course for a computer recently thrown out the second story window.

Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.