Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2015, 07:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Question Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

I have this old Gateway EV700 monitor, and I wanted to try to use an old Compaq Presario C500 laptop with it, as the laptops screen is broken beyond repair... I plugged in the VGA cable, and the monitor said

"
OUT OF FREQUENCY

HF : 76.7kHz
VF : 49.0Hz

OPERATING FREQUENCY :

HF : 30-70kHz
VF : 50-160Hz

POWER MANAGEMENT IN (Counts down from 20 seconds) "


"Power Management" is just the monitor putting itself in sleep mode (As I call it, you most likely know what I mean) ...

I don't want to have to get a new monitor, as mine works perfectly fine...
BTW My Compaq mentioned doesn't boot into Windows(TM) , so I cannot change the display settings for the monitor output..... (I say this, because other forums say WIndows(TM) has a setting for changing the "refresh rate (Hz)" )

How could I fix this problem???

PS. My Compaq also has an S-Video out, but I cannot get that to function, as when I plug it into my TV, it remains blank (yes, It is on the right input)...
__________________

Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

Does it display that as soon as you plug it in / turn it on, or are you able to view BIOS/startup settings?

If you can see stuff when it first boots up, press F8 to get to the Advanced Boot Menu after the BIOS splash screen and before the Windows logo would normally load, and choose the "VGA Mode".
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

Yes, It says that as soon as I plug in the VGA cable..
The screen on my Compaq doesn't work, as I cannot see the BIOS or anything... I tried using an old Windows(TM) VIsta DVD on my Compaq, and it worked fine... The thing is.. When the monitor displays that, I can a see garbled and distorted version of the PC booting into the disk, so I think it automatically went into "VGA Mode"...

PS. My HDD doesn't have an OS on it yet... (Should I use Ubuntu?????)

PPS. If I boot up my Compaq without the Windows(TM) disk in, the monitor doesn't display that message, and stays blank.....
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 04:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

It shouldn't be garbled or distorted, have you tried resetting the monitor?

If the monitor is plugged into the laptop when it's initially turned on, you should see the initial splash screen etc for the PC, is there any point where the text looks clear?

EDIT: Just read your post again, you're not even in Windows so the resolution/refresh rate should be pretty minimal anyway... have you got another monitor you can test with to make sure it's not the laptop causing a problem?

The monitor is ancient, it's probably a good investment to pick up a new one!
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

No, I do not have another monitor... I cannot get another monitor at the time, as I am only 14... Is there anyway to change the monitor (with the monitor settings) to be compatible with the laptop???
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 04:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

I wouldn't have thought so sadly...

Out of interest, what is the fault with the laptop screen? Is it smashed or simply not displaying?
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 289
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

The Compaq's screen simply doesn't display. It was my sisters, but the laptops backlight stopped working, but now the whole screen doesn't work... Should I open up the screen and see if it is connected properly, or something?
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 05:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zekester2015 View Post
The Compaq's screen simply doesn't display. It was my sisters, but the laptops backlight stopped working, but now the whole screen doesn't work... Should I open up the screen and see if it is connected properly, or something?
That would be the first thing I'd check. Can usually get laptop screens pretty cheap, as well.

This is the site I use to get replacement laptop screens: https://www.laptopscreen.com/

Fantastic customer service and quick shipping as well.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 10:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zekester2015 View Post
The Compaq's screen simply doesn't display. It was my sisters, but the laptops backlight stopped working, but now the whole screen doesn't work... Should I open up the screen and see if it is connected properly, or something?
Okay, so you have a screen on a laptop which has simply stopped working, and it's appearing to not work with the external monitor either. It's also not working on the TV with different external video cables.

This would indicate something to me that something is wrong with the graphics chipset, you can't be sure though unless you can test with a monitor you know for sure is compatible with the resolution of the laptop, or a new internal display. (though I'd have thought the external monitor you had SHOULD have worked if the laptop was functioning normally.)

The laptop doesn't look worth fixing, especially if it is indeed a chipset issue.
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 08:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: Gateway EV700 "Out of frequency"

The Gateway monitor specs are:
Quote:
Image Aspect Ratio
4:3
Native Resolution
1280 x 1024
Can't find anything just by the C500 model for that laptop, there is a more specific number for the laptop on the bottom side sticker, should be some something like "C5XXX(numbers)-XX(letters)
Might help with an on line diagnostic
__________________

__________________
The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help.'
Ronald Reagan - 40th president of US (1911 - 2004)
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gateway, monitor, out of frequency, vga

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gateway to gateway VPN SBS ISA firewall heals1ic Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-20-2006 06:34 PM
I hear a "doo daa", "doo daa", "doo daa" moondogsb Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-13-2006 09:50 AM
Problem with a Gateway EV700 Monitor BladeValant546 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 04-09-2005 03:51 PM
frequency out of range ???no clue whats going on here. MissTruTexan Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-21-2004 02:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.